Home > Blog, Faith, Interviews and Talks > Interviews

Interviews

I have recently had the opportunity to be interviewed on New Zealand’s Rhema. It was an interesting experience as I had never been on the inside of a radio studio before. I have always had a fascination with job disciplines that are not my own. I guess its a always been part of my curiosity of the world on how things work, and is probably responsible in large part for my interest in science.

Anyway, the conversation largely centered on my life up to now, where it is going, how cancer fits in, and where God is in amongst it all. The interview spanned three ten minute spots, interspersed with advertisements, over an hour. I quite enjoyed it, and once you get past the fact that there are x numbers of people listening to you (where x = any number you like), its quite a relaxing environment on the inside of a studio. I’ll put a link up in the next day or so when it get’s posted online, so be sure to check back if you want to listen to it. [UPDATED: Click here to hear the interview]

I’m constantly amazed at the opportunities that have come my way lately to share my story. I have spoken to a number of groups, which include youth, churches, and workplaces, as well as being interviewed for a short film last week, and now this spot on Rhema today.

It’s amazing how my story of death can be one that can encourage so many people. It’s only God’s grace that really allows me to talk about it the way I do, and His grace alone that opens these doors of opportunity. I can only hope and pray that people will be better off for having heard my story, and closer to God for having been a part of the journey. When I die, if nothing else, I will be happy knowing I managed to build God’s kingdom just that little bit bigger.

Thanks for listening.

Categories: Blog, Faith, Interviews and Talks Tags: , ,
  1. Suzanne
    December 8, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Hey – that’s awesome! You’re becoming world famous in NZ. Whats the short film story?? Am very intrigued… Keep up the good work.

    • Jared
      December 8, 2009 at 8:14 pm

      At this stage I can’t really say much about it until it gets released, which will be in february. :-)

  2. Jane
    December 31, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Wow Jared – thank you soo much for openly and honestly sharing your journey with us.

    I heard your web site mentioned this past week on Rhema and so here I am tonight listening to your Rhema interview and reading your blog.
    It has brought back many memories of my own cancer journey 6 years ago and reminds me of the amazing faithfulness of our Lord who promises that He wont leave us or forsake us.

    Jared, I hope and pray that you will be able to continue and complete your medical studies in 2010, and may it be a year of God surprises for you.

    Blessings to you and your wife.

  3. Petro
    April 13, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Jared, You remind me so much about the book I’m reading. The Shack. You know the thoughts of God, you know Jesus and you know the Holy Spirit! Be blessed!!!

  1. April 8, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,072 other followers

