Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 37.0

Chemo 37.0

September 22, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

arrgghhh… what a round this one has been!

The three days leading up to the round involved me taking sick days, getting fevers and generally feeling very viral. All the classical symptoms of a cold, except perhaps twice the intensity. I found out shortly after coming down sick that 5 patients on the ward next to mine had come down with influenza A, so that was a possible source for my suffering.

The decision to go ahead with chemo on Friday was a bit hit and miss at the time, and I seemed to be getting a little bit better, so we decided to go for it. In retrospect, that was probably not the best decision. Whilst the round of chemo was no worse than usual, actually possibly a little bit better, by the time Tuesday came round, my cold and flu symptoms hit me like brick wall.

Unrelenting paroxysms of coughing, headaches, a throat that simulated balls of sandpaper every time I swallowed. The result ended up with myself heading into the oncology acute department today to get reviewed and make sure I wasn’t neutropenic or that anything else was going on. Fortunately I wasn’t neutropenic, and our conclusion was that it is a particularly nasty virus compounded by the chemo.

So today, ten days after initially getting sick, I continue to cough up my lungs and generally feel miserable. I have also lost my voice which doesn’t help. Hopefully I will be back at work on Monday, and then ready for the next round of chemotherapy.

Until next round…

  1. Louise
    September 22, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Jared it sounds like you have the same virus (or similar) that I have had this past week. I feel lousy enough with just the virus! My heart goes out to you coping with it on top of your chemo.
    You are a brave man!

  2. Maree
    September 25, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Hi Jared, Sorry to hear that you have been so unwell with the virus. I pray that you will recover quickly from this. Thinking of you and praying for you. Mx

  3. jane
    September 26, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Im with Louise….a bad enough virus to have had without the chemo. Praying for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,197 other followers

