Home > Blog > Elise Alexandra Grace

Elise Alexandra Grace

On Friday the 17th of January, at 6.55am, we moved from being a family of 2 to a family of 3. In what was an extraordinarily fast labour for a first time mum (2hrs 55min), Hannah and I were proud to introduce Elise Alexandra Grace into our lives. She weighed in at 3.865kg (8 lb 8oz).

1523100_10153748621470327_1273380494_o

Her arrival into the world was uncomplicated and Hannah and Elise are doing really well. The ensuing few days have been the baby moon phase of parenthood. We have really enjoyed watching Elise adapt to her new outside world and she is proving to be (so far) a good sleeper and a not-too-demanding consumer of milk. 

As we adapt to this new phase of life, we would like to thank everyone who made it possible through their incredible generosity. My most recent CT scan showed good news, and that the treatment is successful (insofar as there is no disease and a reduction in the tumour burden of existing disease). As I reflect on our circumstance I had a realisation:..

It was in the context of gestating new life that I pursued more of my own life.

My daughter is literally the reason I am still alive…

And I will be forever grateful to her, and to those who enabled this to happen.

We now move forward into a new phase of life, one that will no doubt include sleepless nights, but filled with tears of joy and an overwhelming sense of pride in who our daughter has already become.

I have in the interim postponed my next round of chemotherapy, which will be next wednesday. It will be my 6th round of Avastin and FOLFOX, and my 80th round total. Its not clear why I have lasted as long as I have, but after meeting Elise there is now continued impetus to try and survive for even longer again.

Whilst today we featured on the front page of some news papers (to acknowledge and  to thank those who contributed to helping us make this day a reality), we will be declining further media requests as we feel this is an important time for the family as we grow and adapt and give Elise the privacy she deserves.

Until next time..

Categories: Blog
  1. Janice
    January 25, 2014 at 7:15 am

    Congratulations Jared and Hannah. I hope that your lives are filled with a wonderful life that Elise will provide. Best wishes to you all. Janice

  2. Jude Murdoch
    January 25, 2014 at 7:44 am

    Warmest congratulations to you both. That is fantastic.

  3. marz
    January 25, 2014 at 7:48 am

    Congratulations to both of you ..elise looks gorgeous and no doubt will keep you busy ,,

  4. Lisa Fackler
    January 25, 2014 at 7:48 am

    She was born on my Birthday!!! She is so beautiful!!! Well done!!!

  5. Renelle Gronert
    January 25, 2014 at 8:37 am

    Wonderful, exciting and congratulations! Enjoy the blessings.

  6. Nicole King
    January 25, 2014 at 8:58 am

    Oh wow! What an amazing answer to prayer! God bless you all xoxo

  7. paula
    January 25, 2014 at 9:14 am

    congratulations that is such wonderful news we are so happy for you both , your daughter is beautiful

  8. Tash
    January 25, 2014 at 9:36 am

    Beautiful news, huge congratulations!!! She’s totally gorgeous. So glad you get to enjoy all the awesome suprises that come with these little ones, it’s a precious time & they develop into little personalities so quick. Look after each other.

  9. Craig F
    January 25, 2014 at 9:48 am

    I’ve been checking here every day hoping for this news! You are my favorite family that I’ve never met and I think Elise is not going to have any trouble ‘knowing of you’!

  10. Tess Keighley
    January 25, 2014 at 10:25 am

    Beautiful words Jared. Congratulations a million times over. Well done Hannah!!!! amazing lady! it’s all such an exciting journey. Good to keep the media at bay as it’s such a beautiful but private time for you guys and it goes so fast! congratulations again xo

  11. Carolyn
    January 25, 2014 at 10:28 am

    Just heard on the radio of your joy and couldn’t wait to read for myself the good news. Congratulations to you both and I know this child will be truly blessed to have such wonderful parents.

  12. Greg
    January 25, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    We’ll Done congratulations to you both a beautiful wee girl.

  13. Ellie
    January 25, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    How awesome that you are doing so well Jared and that you and Hannah are sharing such joy with the arrival of Elise. May you have many happy days together. You are such an inspiration as a couple and family.

  14. Dyana Parore-Connell
    January 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    Congratulations to you and Hannah on the safe arrival of your precious daughter Elise. Pleased to read your latest CT Scan looking good for you. Take care.

  15. Louise
    January 25, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    With love and Congratulations from cousin Louise, Shane, Jamie, Luke, and Lily. Elise is a darling <3 Enjoy your babymoon xoxoxo

  16. Maree
    January 25, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Congratulations Jared and Hannah!! I saw your picture in the herald will keep this to share with my home-group this exciting news :-) Enjoy your beautiful daughter a wee bundle of joy – she looks like you Jared! Lots of love and hugs,
    Maree xx

  17. DEBBI TODD
    January 25, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    Congratulations, she is gorgeous :o)

  18. Pauline Johnson
    January 25, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    Congratulations Hannah and Jared on the arrival of your precious daughter Elise. She is absolutely beautiful. Pauline Johnson (Claire French’s Mum)

  19. January 26, 2014 at 12:16 am

    A huge hooray! I’m so happy for you all…. Thank you God! We’ve never met, but i think of you often.

  20. Mardon
    January 26, 2014 at 7:06 am

    Wishing all three of you joy.

  21. January 26, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    It’s the news thousands of us have been praying for and I’m sure I feel almost as happy as your family. Children are our greatest gift, a cliche but oh, so true. A gift to us – and your gift to the world. I am sure Elise will always be proud of her wonderful parents. Much love to you all. Lynda Finn.

  22. Jodi
    January 27, 2014 at 3:58 am

    Will you still update your blog tho?

    • Jared
      January 27, 2014 at 9:07 am

      I will definitely keep updating. :-)

      • Jodi
        January 31, 2014 at 11:10 am

        Thank you! Your story really hit home with me, when I was 4 months old my father was diagnosed with terminal cancer. He died a year later and I never had a chance to develop any concrete memories of him. He was a firefighter, someone who saved lives like you do. Before he died he wrote me letters and filmed videos of himself as a gift for me. He recorded some for “milestones” in my life like first day of school, first date, first love, graduation etc. he also recorded some as just general advice like how to deal with people, what kind of character traits should I develop, how to deal with disappointment etc. He did a total of 117 and I am now 25 and cherish them to this day. My mom remarried a wonderful man who I call dad but by my father leaving me pieces of himself I’ve been able to keep him in my heart, get to know him and I miss him dearly, he is the main man in my life still. I recommend you doing something like this for your daughter. I promise she will appreciate it and hold them dear to her heart. When I went off to university my mom and dad got the letters copied and made into a quilt for me. It’s my most cherished possession. I know you moderate these comments so you don’t have to post it. I just wanted to get ahold of you and let you know the greatest gift my dad left for me (besides life itself), and recommend you do something similar. I believe you can see my email so you can feel free to email me if you have any questions.

  23. January 27, 2014 at 9:06 am

    Hi Jared- Im so happy for you and your family and touched by this story I would love to send you a product hamper from Baobaby for your little girl, please get in touch with me with your address details. Jan

  24. Karen D. - El Cajon, CA
    January 27, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    Such exciting news! Enjoy your precious time with her!

  25. scully
    January 28, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    Congratulations Mum and Dad, she looks beautiful and perfect, this news has made my day.

  26. MM
    January 28, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    Congratulations on your beautiful daughter, for your answer to prayer to be here to meet her and now to love her & watch her grow. I pray you continue to have great success with your latest treatments and are around for a very long time for your new little family!

  27. Shona Enderby
    January 28, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    Can tell you the joy I felt when I read the article in the Herald and now see the photo of your stunning baby girl. Well done all three of you, your courage is inspiring and I wish you the longest time together possible. Keep fighting Jared, we’re with you every step of the way! Love Shona and the Team in Perth xx

  28. January 29, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    wow Jared, how wonderful for your family – and you made it! I read you wanted to meet your baby girl (on earth). God bless, love Debbie (Merran’s sister).

  29. Deb
    January 29, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    Congratulations what wonderful news and what a beautiful baby girl. God bless your family.

  30. GregBest
    January 30, 2014 at 9:27 am

    This is awesome! I’m so so glad that you got to be there for your baby girl and for our family to be able to contribute a little something to helping you get there mate! Loved hearing about this on the news, made my day! Enjoy every moment with her and we hope you get to spend alot more time with her moving forward. All the very best to you and your family!

  31. Margaret
    February 1, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    How absolutely fantastic, so thrilled for you both. Just wonderful news.

  32. Brigitte Murdoch
    February 4, 2014 at 8:39 pm

    So happy for the three of you. Enjoy Enjoy Enjoy :)

  33. Lesley fyfe
    February 5, 2014 at 11:19 am

    Congratulations You have the most beautiful little girl .We are so happy for you all.
    May you all enjoy many happy happy days together.
    Lesley& Trevor Fyfe
    (Jared we have been watching your blog for some time. you and Hannah are both a courageous couple and an inspiration to others) Thank you

  34. Hayley Davey
    February 20, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    Hello,

    Congratulations Jared & Hannah on the arrival of your beautiful baby girl, Elise.
    I watched your story on 20/20 tonight and it’s really affected me.
    I admire you and your family so very much, the strength yourself and Hannah have shown is nothing but incredible and inspiring.
    I recently watched a close family member pass away of very aggressive liver cancer and I would not wish the pain of this on anybody, it’s a tough journey for all involved.
    You are one of those rare people who truly do see the bright side to the most dire situations. I’m so very sorry you have been delt this card.
    Please know that you will be remembered, by even those who just met you through their TV tonight.
    Remembered with adoration and the most respect.

    Sincerely,
    Hayley.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,199 other followers

