Home > Blog, Cancer Update > Round 2 half time update.

Round 2 half time update.

I have starts writing this post in hospital while waiting for an ultrasound scan of my neck. Yesterday morning I awoke with a sore neck which I put down to the way I slept, however, over time it got worse. By last night, there was also swelling which I chose to ignore and went to sleep. This morning when I awoke, it had neither improved or got worse, but it had become apparent that it needed attention. The swelling is located right at the point where my portacath inserts into the sublcavian.

So, long story short, I’m awaiting an ultrasound to work out whether or not my portacath has clotted up or not. Let’s hope it hasn’t.

Continued….
So it turns out I have thrombosed of my internal jugular vein. The consequences of which are that my portacath will have to be removed. So I am currently being admitted and then being put on a surgical list for the removal.

I’m not looking forward to infusions of oxaliplatin thru the arm veins!!!

I’ll try to keep this updated as things happen.

  1. Luke
    February 9, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Ah sucks. I thought it was just a hickey from the missus. See you on the other side of the surgery. Anyone for an episode of ‘Friends’.

    Luke

  2. rhys
    February 9, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    bro, that’s arse! we currently have a patient down here with a remarkably similar story…however their thrombosis is rather extensive. how are they gonna tackle the thrombus issue?

  3. rhys
    February 9, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    ps praying it all goes sweet

    • Jared
      February 9, 2009 at 7:32 pm

      As far as I know, it’s only IJV involvement at this stage. They are gonna remove the portacath and then dose me on clexane for the next couple of weeks to hopefully resolve the clot. Yay, daily subcut injections… My favourite. 🙂

  4. rhys
    February 10, 2009 at 7:22 am

    better than tPA thrombolysis delivered directly into the thrombus!

    so, no IV access for a while i guess.

    here’s praying that the thrombus resolves real quick and it turns out to be nothing more than a wee hassle 😉

  5. caroline
    February 11, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    love the hair cut hannah….. (warm fluffy comment about your sucky situation goes here Jared)….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

