Home > Blog, Cancer Update > Chemo 2.7

Chemo 2.7

So, I had the surgery last night, finally!!.. and this means no more nil by mouth dieting regime, which I am happy about. As of this stage, I’m yet to be discharged, but am currently at home because I manipulated the system to give me leave. I’ll be going back in to the hospital in an hour or so.

My portacath has been removed, and I still have a giant clot in my right internal jugular vein. The clot should hopefully slowly resolve over the next few weeks now that the source of it has been removed. This will be aided by the fact I have to inject myself twice a day for 2 weeks with clexane, also known as low-molecular-weight-heparin. After two weeks, the injections will continue once a day for about 3 or 4 months, or till the end of my chemo to help resolve the clot, and to prevent any further from occurring. The injection is just like an insulin injection, except way more stingy. The needle itself doesn’t hurt, its the stupid drug that causes local stinging for about 5 or 10 min after the injection.

So, at the moment, we are just waiting for the vascular team (again!!) to give me the all clear on the discharge. They weren’t projected to visit till sometime this afternoon, which is why we snuck home, so I could have a decent shower etc.  In the mean time, I’m gonna be a complete cripple until this clot resolves. My neck is REALLY sore, so much so that I took morphine this morning to make it a bit more functional. I cant even get dressed without help, any sneezing, coughing turning of the head etc causes pain. Anything that may cause an increase of pressure on the carotid sheath, or the surrounding structures is bad news.

Also, apologies on the previous posts being out of order… it has something to do with the fact that I was posting them from my iPhone, it re-arranged them for some reason.

Quick update – I have now been dishcarged, so don’t have to go back into the hospital!! – Still a cripple though.

  1. Al
    February 11, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Yay… nothing better than avoiding a cramped room with a man-lady!!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

