Home > Blog, Interest > I stumbled across this….

I stumbled across this….

This is a Photo Essay that I stumbled upon on a website of the National Press Photographers Association. This particular Essay was awarded an Honorable Mention in 2006. The reason I post it is because its a reminder that life could be  A LOT worse for me. I am fortunate by God’s grace to be where I am today, despite the daily injections, and the rounds of chemotherapy.

00008996-OES-bride-002

“Katie Kirkpatrick, 21, held off cancer to celebrate the happiest day of her life. Katie had chased cancer, once only to have it return-to clog her lungs and grab hold of her heart. Breathing was difficult now, she had to use oxygen. The pain in her back was so intense it broke through the morphine that was supposed to act as a shield. Her organs were shutting down but it would not stop her from marrying Nick Godwin, 23, who was in love with Katie since 11th grade.”

Go to the website HERE to see all 12 images in this essay. I recommend looking at some of the others on the same site as well, there is some powerful photography there.

  1. Al
    February 15, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    BRO! that was really touching!!!

    IF you want to be subject for a 33@50mm portrait any time this month, let me know… I would love to be able to point a few people to your blog and also create some awareness… Let me know if you would be up for it?

    • Jared
      February 16, 2009 at 9:20 am

      Yeah bro, I’d be up for that. Let me know when you want to do.

  2. Nigel
    February 16, 2009 at 10:28 am

    That is just incredible. The human spirit is a beautiful thing

  3. Al
    February 17, 2009 at 10:00 am

    How is Friday for you? 🙂 I am free in the afternoon…

  4. Jaime
    February 17, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    powerful and beautiful. wow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

