Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 5.1

Chemo 5.1

I’m 3 days into the 5th round of chemo. This particular round started off a lot worse than previous rounds. Since I no longer have a portacath, this was the second infusion into my left arm, and it was fairly painful. Thankfully, since i’m alternating arms, there should only be one more infusion into the left, and two more into the right by the time I finish. Furthermore, this time round, I had a lot more symptoms immediately after the infusion. I had really bad cramping, cold sensitivity and nausea. I have deliberatly hit the anti-emetics a lot harder this time, and it seems to have got on top of the nausea which is nice.

So once day 1 and 2 had passed by, I have steadily improved, and if anything, would say overall that this infusion isn’t too much different from the previous 2, apart from the rough start to it all.

Herbal teas seem to be the mainstay for fighting nausea, as well as keeping me re-hydrated, since anything cold causes my throat to cramp up. My sister just brought me up a huge delivery from this place in Wellington which definitely does the trick… I have just finished a very nice cup of Jasmine Dragon Pearls. 🙂

  1. rhys
    April 12, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    jasmine dragon pearls are the shiz!

    • Jared
      April 12, 2009 at 7:01 pm

      Can’t Disagree. 🙂

  2. Simon
    April 13, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    I also agree. I found a place on the Shore that sells them for really cheap too. tleafT charges a fortune. I can pick you up some more next time I’m getting some from there if you like.

    • Jared
      April 13, 2009 at 8:26 pm

      I’d be interested.. we just stocked up for the mean time though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

