Home > Cancer Update > Oncology Update 2.0

Oncology Update 2.0

Well, I would love to begin this post with great news… unfortunately I will begin and end it with really bad news. Two days ago I had my oncology appointment and was given the results of my 3 month follow up CT scan after my last one showed an enlarged node.

The results are as follows:

  • The existing enlarged node is now at least twice as big, from 9mm diameter to 23mm diameter
  • There are multiple new nodes in the aorto-caval region, running up the aortic chain that are significantly enlarged. These nodes are particularly large vertically, up to 4 or 5cm in length which can be seen on the coronal section of the scan.
  • One further small node of 4mm in the sacral region of unknown significance that was not there previously.

These results are pretty much as bad as it gets. This is all recurrence that has occurred within 6 months of the first line of chemo, which makes it even worse. This is considered a rather aggressive recurrence of the cancer, and the goal of further treatment is no longer cure (although still a very remote possibility), just elongation of my life.

So, the plan from here initially considered possible surgical resection of the nodes, but that has since been ruled out, as there is unlikely to be any benefit gained from surgery when weighed against the risks. Chemotherapy will restart again in the next few weeks, once I get a portacath reinserted. This will be a different regime than the last one, and I will loose my hair on this one and look like a proper cancer patient!!! (I had so many comments on how well I looked last time, I think it was cos I kept my hair). The portacath of course means that I will be back on daily prophylactic clexane injections since I am now officially a clot risk after the last IJV thrombosis.

The depressing part of all of this (apart from the fact that I’m looking at my eventual demise) is that I am probably the healthiest and best I will be right now, and its likely to be all down hill from here. I have been really appreciating all the support I have had from everyone over the last few days. The next phase of life will be interesting to say the least.

Jared.

  1. October 23, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Hey Jared,

    Although it’s hard to find something to say, I just want to let you know that you are in our prayers and I hope that whatever the outcome, be it good or not so good, that you’ll be given all you need to be able to get through it.

    Take care, Hamish Guthrie

  2. rhys
    October 23, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    what crappy news. thanks for the update bro, must have been a hard one to write. what’s the new chemo regime? enjoy (as much as the sombre news allows) the next little bit before chemo starts bro. much love and prayers.

  3. Sarah
    October 23, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Hey Jared,
    Heard your news from Kasey last night. You are in my thoughts and prayers at the moment.
    Take care Jaza
    Love Sarah

  4. Charlotte
    October 23, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Hey Jared

    Thanks for putting up an update……very brave. That sucks big time. Please please let me know if I can do anything, even if it is washing your socks! I am thinking of you
    xx Love Charlotte

  5. Wayne
    October 24, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Hi Jared,
    Kim and I are thinking of you and looking forward to seeing you soon.
    Sorry to hear the recent results, you are continually in our prayers.
    See you on our return in November.

    Wayne

  6. Jamie
    October 27, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Hey Jared,

    That sux bro! Would just like to add my 2 cents to Charlotte’s sentiments. If there is anything we can do (even prayer seems a bit trite…) then let us know. I’m sure you have heaps of good people around you helping out. Maybe a fresh face/voice would help in some way?

    Anyway… 0275070775

    Peace out
    Jamie (as in guy who you hung out with in India…)

  7. Nicole
    October 28, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Hi Jared

    I am following Al’s 365 project and he mentioned your blog, so I came and had a look. Glad I did.

    This is a hard thing that you are facing and from what I see in these pages, you are carrying it with grace from on High. You’ll be in my prayers and I know that God will answer them – let the answer be yes 🙂

    Nicole 🙂

  8. Sarah
    November 3, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Hey Jared, I’m James and the Ross’s friend from church.
    Anyway jst wanted to say we’re all praying for you and never say never ! There’s always hope and possibility.

    Thanks for writing the updates, it can’t be easy.

    xx

  9. Jolene - jasmemphis
    November 3, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    As you know from a previous Twitter, my husband’s last PET scan didn’t show any cancer but his oncologist said the slightest weight change has to be considered the possibility that there has been a reoccurence of the cancer. Whatever type David has/had is very fast growing – and treatment would be necessary at the first inkling of cancer. He had to have a duodenal resection to remove as much of the tumor as possible and that resection is what just about did him in. David was dreadfully sick from the chemo – lost hair, lost weight, lost spirit and awareness. He didn’t eat for over 6 months and at one point had to take his meds crushed and put in his feeding tube.

    Anyway, I bore you with all these woes and I apologize. I hope you are planning to have many eventful days enjoying the things and people you love.

    Thinking of you – Jolene

  10. Rachel Langton
    November 5, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Hi Jared,

    That sucks 😦 Biggest hug. I’m praying that you feel God’s peace more than ever.

    Lv Rachel

  11. Sandie Harris
    January 11, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Wow! You and Hannah are in my prayers big time. I am totally blowen away. I wish there was something I could say or do… The greatest thing I can do is pray..

    Lots of love for you both

    Bless ya

    Sandie & the boys xxx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

