Home > Blog, Cancer Update > Back on the Clexane (Oncology update 2.1)

Back on the Clexane (Oncology update 2.1)

One of the downsides of a portacath being reinserted into me is that I now am back on prophylactic Clexane to keep me from thrombosing off my veins again. The dose is lower this time than the last time as I was on a treatment dose of 90mg per day (1mg/kg for the med geeks), I’m now only on 40mg per day (0.5mg/kg). This means every day, at the same time, I have to inject myself. Clexane is quite a ‘stingy’ drug, the needle itself is only as sore as needles will be, but the injecting process is the bit that is the worst. I also am slowly starting to accumulate bruises on my abdomen, an unavoidable side affect of injecting an anti-coagulalent into your fat.

IMG_5558-1

In other news, I’m now officially starting chemotherapy on Friday, the 27th of November, which is 13 days away from the writing of this post, so the countdown of feeling ‘well’ is now on.

It makes me want to savour being well for as long as possible.

  1. Emma Donald
    December 30, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    30th of December
    2009
    7:20pm

    Hi Jarod,

    i’m 10 years old and i am a Christian.
    I had just got a phone call from my nextdoor neighbours that (we are on holiday on the North Shore of NZ) my little black bunny, Flika, had just died while the vet was examining him. Anyway, i was REALLY upset about it and i couldn’t stop crying, so they asked my dad over the phone “do you want me to bury him for you?”. Of course i wanted to be there when he was buried, so he said no thanks and we said that we would come down there to bury him. So when we were in the car and i was crying, my dad turned on the radio in the car and put it onto Rhema. When he turned up the radio, you were talking. Everything was silent and i stopped crying. Thankyou so much for encouraging me that everything has it’s time and that the only way we can understand it is to submit our problems to God, ask Him to help us, and to trust Him and have faith in Him. Now i realize just how much faith you can really have in God. Thankyou so much. I can now have a much closer relationship with God.

    God Bless You,
    Lots Of Love From Emma=D

    P.S: I will pray for you with your medicine, chemotherapy and cancer^_^

  2. Jared
    January 1, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Hi Emma,

    Thanks for commenting!! 🙂
    I’m glad to hear that you have been encouraged by what I said on the radio. Sometimes life just doesn’t go as we plan it, and it is how we respond to these situations that enables us to be closer to God. I know when pets die, it can be really sad, but I’m glad that you have found that God can have a greater purpose for our life, even when we don’t really understand it.

    God Bless,

    Jared.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

