Home > Cancer Update > Oncology Update 2.2

Oncology Update 2.2

Just a quick update regarding my treatment on New Year’s Eve. I was due to hit round two of chemo, but my neutrophils were only 0.99, usually not enough to stop treatment itself, but because of the trial I’m on, the requirements state I need at least 1.5. This means that my chemo was delayed a week, and that I will be starting round 2 this coming Friday. The net result is that my chemo break between round 1 and 2 is a 4 week gap, rather than the 2 it should be, due to me being in Dunedin over the Christmas break.

So, there isn’t too much I can do about the situation other than sit back and enjoy the ride.

In other news, my hair has started to fall out. I wonder how long till I have none?… hmmmm..

Also, I start my final year of med on Tuesday. I’m starting off with GP out in Botany Downs for a few weeks.

I hope everyone is having an awesome New Years Holiday.

Jared

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: ,
  1. January 1, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    My hair got really thin but never completely fell out so I had to shave it completely off for fear of scaring small children! All these wierd side effects certainly keep things interesting…

  2. Catherine Pettigrew
    January 18, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Hi Jared and Hannah, how’s it going?
    I read this article, Three gifts for hard times”, and wondered if it might encourage you . the link is

    http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/article_print.html?id=84612

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

