Home > Photography > Battle Scars – Collabor:8

Battle Scars – Collabor:8

Photographs should tell a story. That’s what they say anyway. This one sums up nicely my life as it is at the moment. The scar on the left (my right) is from a hemicolectomy surgery 14 months ago. This was when I was told I had cancer, and the fragility of life became apparent. This scar is a visual reminder of the life I have lived since, dominated by chemotherapy, the evolution of a hopeful prognosis to a terminal one, and the embracing of what life I have left.
On the right (my left) is a bruise. I have to inject myself with clexane every day in order to stop my portacath from clotting over. You can see the small dot where the needle went in. This injection was a ‘bleeder’, and since I had a nice white business shirt on, I stuck a small plaster over it. Oddly, the square patch of gauze caused this weird area of no bruising, where surrounding it a bruise developed over the course of the day. My medical knowledge cant quite explain that phenomena.
The photo is not technically great, the depth of field was probably to narrow…. but it tells a story.
Shutter: 1/500 f/2.0 ISO 400. Lens 50mm f/1.8. Post processing – B+W with yellow filter and vignetting.
Categories: Photography Tags: , ,
  1. Jeanette
    February 21, 2010 at 12:43 am

    Hey there Jared, We have been thinking of you each day in ourpray time.
    Cannot say that we know what you are personly going through,but we have been where your family are right now.Just a day at a time,God only knows the future or your journey in this life ,let him be your power from day to day.The scars you see today will be just a memory in the future,just keep hanging in there one day at a time.
    Lots of love Jeanette,mark and Adam.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

