Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 5.0

Chemo 5.0

Well, round 5 chemo has been and gone, and tomorrow I head back into the ‘real’ world. This round has been a mixture of improving and worsening side effects. On the improve was the nausea, no where near as bad this time round. I lay the blame for that on a new anti-emetic that I have been given, which, interestingly, I also blame for a worsening in my fatigue. Nozinan, is an anti-psychotic, part of the same family as haloperidol, which is used to treat psychoses in schizophrenia or mania. I am on 1/4 of a 25mg tablet twice a day, which means I’m not on enough to get the anti-psychotic effects, but enough that its anti-emetic effects work. The unfortunate trade off is that is a fairly sedating drug. So my tiredness could well be due to the new medication, or it could just be due the cumulative effect of chemotherapy slowly wearing down my body.

Nothing is ever simple….

This round also saw Hannah in Christchurch for the weekend doing a course in advanced paediatric life support, so she got to miss the miserable me, and my parents got have me instead.

A special shout out goes to Luke Malcolm whom last night came through on a tweet appeal for some food. With no energy and no appetite, its tough trying to sort out dinner for yourself, so I appreciated Luke coming round with dinner to keep me going.

Tomorrow I relaunch my career in psychiatry at north shore hospital, only to be put on hold again in 9 days time.

I shall enjoy my well-time while I can.

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: ,
  1. Louise
    February 23, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    enjoy your time at NSH. I hope the tiredness goes away fast!
    You are being prayed for.

  2. Heather
    February 28, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    impressed by your stamina through all this!….kia kaha. H

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

