Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 6.0 (half time)

Chemo 6.0 (half time)

The latest round of chemotherapy has been a bit of a mixed bag. The friday immediately after the infusion was pretty bad. The usual culprits played their parts, but it was the nausea that killed me the most. Saturday and Sunday were dominated more by fatigue than nausea, but nausea still played its role in there somewhere.

This round saw me dropping back the dexamethasone, and moving my nozinan to half a tablet each evening. The dex drives me up the wall with its side effects, and the nozinan is probably the biggest culprit with fatigue. I have had much less hungry episodes with the reduced dex dose, as well as sleeping better at night. I didnt take the nozinan on the Sunday evening, which has meant today (monday) has seen a lot more energy that I expected!.. I think i’m starting to get the hang of all this medication juggling!!

…although I will be having words with the oncologist about my friday nausea…

In a nut shell, that was chemo round 6. That makes me half way through all 12 rounds. But.. I can’t really call it the downhill stretch when the net result tends to be cumulative, the worst is unfortunately yet to come.

Also, my hair is seriously thin now. I’m trying to work out whether I should style it to cover up its thinness, or just shave it all off.

All this chemo every two weeks makes me really feel like I need a holiday….

Till next time!…

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: ,
  1. Lauren C
    March 9, 2010 at 10:25 am

    I vote for shaving your head!

    • Jared
      March 9, 2010 at 10:56 am

      I’m not sure how good that will look on me… but it may end up being enforced if I keep going the way I am!!

  2. Simon
    March 9, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Combover!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

