Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 8.0

Chemo 8.0

Round 8 has come and gone…

This round was more or less similar to previous rounds, so in all honesty, there is very little to report. Nausea was the same and tiredness perhaps a little worse. I have cut my dexamethasone right back now, which has definite advantages on the side effects. I also played around with the nozinan (the antipsychotic) in order to try and reduce the amount of tiredness it gave me. I will likely play around with it a bit more next round, because I more or less spent all of Sunday sleeping. I’m almost certain that that is due to the nozinan primarily. I have to say though, it gives me a whole new sympathy for mental health patients that have to take the full dose of antipsychotics, the side effects are not that pleasant!

So that was round 8 done and dusted. Although it has to be said, that just because I return to work does not mean the effects of chemo are over. One of the longer standing effects from round 7 was chronic low grade lower abdominal pain that didn’t really properly clear up until 2 days before the next round of chemo. I am also still shedding hair like a cat and the dark rings under my eyes are less than appealing.

I’m now starting to seriously look at hair/hat solutions as the thinning is starting to look a little ridiculous, and also a bit fluffy….

  1. Lisa Fackler
    April 8, 2010 at 8:25 am

    😦

  2. Caroline
    April 8, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Finn’s got some spare hair – want us to fashion you a rug?! 🙂 hang in there guys.

    • Jared
      April 8, 2010 at 10:33 am

      I find it ironic that a 3 month old has more hair than me at the moment!!!! 🙂

  3. Petro
    April 13, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    God is in control

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

