Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 9.0

Chemo 9.0

Round 9 has come and gone. This is how it played out:

Day 1

9.30 am appointment. I get hooked up to the IV fluids and get one hour of the trial drug I’m on. I then get 1 1/2 hours of the good stuff, usually feeling rubbish by about 30 minutes out from the finish. 1430, I am released and drive home. There should probably be laws about driving on chemo… but there aren’t.

Home = lying in bed, nauseous, trying not to vomit, trying to sleep off the ill feeling. Generally I don’t eat much on Day 1, it doesn’t agree with me. Cleaning my teeth makes me want to vomit, something to do with sticking a plastic thing into my mouth.

Day 2

Wake up after a pharmaceutically induced sleep, generally grab a quick porridge, and then hit bed again. I usually then wake up around 12.30pm, have a small lunch, and hit bed again. I wake up at about 3.30, still feeling ill, trying to feel positive. Small meal, some TV, then back to bed for the night, another pharmaceutically induced sleep.

Day 3

Oddly still not feeling better, actually a little worse. I have to pick Hannah up from the airport, which I do, and then go the hospital at 12.30pm to get my home infusion disconnected. Still feeling like rubbish, I go home, sleep, and generally be an antisocial husband. Yet another pharmaceutically induced sleep, but this time compounded with waking at 3.30am with acid reflux so I grab a glass of milk. I dont manage to get back to sleep.

Day 4

Nausea is unusually lingering on this round, I’m usually better by the Monday. Ah well… Still have my post breakfast sleep, but its listless… very unpleasant. I spend the day battling with the restlessness of boredom, and the fatigue that prevents me doing anything about it. Watch some backlogged TV episodes on MySky, catch a Fatso DVD. Meals consist of re-heating leftovers from the previous few days that are strategically accumulated. Maccaronni cheese is about as safe as I can go. I try very hard not to induce hiccups from eating too much, a manifestation of the nausea.

Day 5

Tuesday. Still feeling mild nausea, but so much better than Day 1. CT scan, followed by chest x-ray. I stuffed up the eating timetable on that one, so I didnt eat between breakfast and dinner. I rewarded my stuff up with comfort food from Wendy’s. I managed to get out and pick up a mattress from the other side of auckland for Hannah’s brother who is staying later this week. I’m still tired. Technically should be at a lecture in the evening, but wag it to revise my obstetrics and gynaecology that starts the next day at Middlemore.

Day 6

Return to work…..

And then bring on round 10 in 10 days time!!!

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: , ,
  1. Frances
    April 21, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I guess we all hope and pray that each of those 10 days seems long, special and Round 10 can be pushed to the back of the mind. You’re a champ.

  2. April 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Dear Jared
    Your faith and courage are uplifting. We recognise the difficult journey you are on and are familiar with what you are going through, as in 2004 our son Wayne was diagnosed with leukaemia.
    Be encouraged to keep telling your heart-wrenching story – it will impact many people, most of whom you will probably never know.
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
    Wayne’s favourite verse was John 16:33: Jesus said “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”
    Love and tears,
    Ruth & Bruce Reynolds

    • Jared
      April 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts and prayers. I had lunch with Hayley the other day, and I was also at Wayne’s funeral. His life was also courageous and encouraging, and I was hugely moved at his funeral.

      Blessings, Jared.

  3. Suzanne
    April 22, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Hey Jared, Just listened to the interviews – great stuff! You are an excellent speaker. Also the details of the chemo process are interesting. Thanks for being so open and letting us share your journey. I hope you have more days this cycle that you feel better. – Suz.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

