Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 11.0

Chemo 11.0

Woohooo!!!

I get a 4 week break from chemotherapy! And that is about the biggest feature of this round, the fact that there is a break afterwards. Hannah and I plan on going to the Gold Coast in about 10 days with some friends of ours for a week. Its the first holiday I’ve had since New Years. Which I think is pretty impressive since I have had to adjust to last year being virtually work free, and this year punctuated by fortnightly chemotherapy.

Interestingly, I feel as though I’m more ‘on top’ of my chemo these days than previous rounds. I’m not sure if its my body adjusting to the toxic onslaught, or whether I’m just learning to manage my symptoms better. Either way, I feel as though I bounce back a bit quicker each time. That being said, Friday is still the worst part of the regime. Unrelenting nausea tends to not abate no matter what anti-emetics I throw at it.

Beyond all of that, the next chemo update will be in 4 weeks, which will be the final round of the trial I’m on. I then continue on a pretty similar regime minus the trial drug (of which I’m pretty sure is placebo anyway).

Until next time…

  1. May 18, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Congratulations, Chemo 11, very courageous! Enjoy your holiday Jared.

    • Jared
      May 18, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      Just had a read of your blog. Some of those photos have beds that I have had chemo in!! Maybe we will cross paths some day in the Auckland Oncology Department 🙂

  2. Jane
    May 20, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Enjoy your break from chemo and have a wonderful holiday in the sunshine – you and Hannah deserve it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

