Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 12.0 and 13.0

Chemo 12.0 and 13.0

I didnt get around to posting after the last round of chemo, so this post can be a dual one for the last two rounds. Generally 12.0 was as similar as the previous rounds have been, everything was well managed and I have been back at work again until round 13.

Round 13 seemed to me to a bit rougher this time. The nausea and fatigue were worse, and hard to manage at times. I still havent vomited yet though which is a good thing. The treatment started off with a few hiccups, the first being that the pre-chemo bloods I had done at Middlemore Hospital ended up being invalid for the trial I am on because their lab isn’t accredited!! So blood had to be taken off me when they accessed my port on Friday. This turned out to be more of a mission than usual, so I had a delayed start to the infusion. Secondly, once the infusion had finished and I was being put on my 46 take home infusion, the pump wasnt working!! So the pharmacists had to ring Baxter, who had to make up a new pump and send it out to the hospital, meaning I didn’g get connected to the pump until 5.30pm friday evening. Friday was a looooong chemo day.

Other than all of that, I’m slowly on the improve and I anticipate being back at the hospital on Wednesday this week as per usual.

I am mega busy at the moment with my General Medical run at Middlemore Hospital. So my blogging is likely to be a little low key over the next few weeks as I spend far too much of my time studying for my long case in 3 weeks time.

‘Till next time….

  1. frances
    June 27, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Sorry about all those delays. The last thing you deserve. Missed you very much this weekend.

    • Jared
      June 28, 2010 at 8:43 am

      Thanks, I wish I could have been there this weekend.

  2. Jane
    June 29, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Thanks for your update and all the best for your studies. May HIS favour be upon you.

  3. Maree
    July 4, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Hi Jared and Hannah,

    Sorry to hear about the delays and issues you guys had with this course, you don’t need that :-/ Good to receive your updates whenever you can – MMH is a very busy hospital and is enough in itself without all the study etc that you have to do on top! It’s cool if you can’t post every week, we will be thinking of you and praying for you 🙂 Lord’s blessings for you both, Much love, Mx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

