Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 14.0

Chemo 14.0

Well, this has been a much delayed and long needed update to the blog. The last 4 weeks of my life have been consumed by general medical run at Middlemore Hospital. Largely, it has required me to lose my life for that period and to study study study. The net result is that I passed my long case by the skin of my teeth, literally. Which is a little bit depressing given how much I studied for it. I even canceled a trip to wellington for one weekend on the day of departure, and then delayed my 14th round of chemo for a week, all in the name of study. One of the frustrating aspects of all of this, is that I have noticed my mind is not what it once used to be. I’m not retaining information like I used to, and my concentration span is getting shorter and shorter. These are all well documented effects of chemotherapy, and they are frustrating to say the least.

Anyway, round 14 has come and currently going. It seemed a little rougher than previous rounds, but then when there are longer gaps between rounds, sometimes its just easy to forget what it was like last time. For the third time running, there were real problems trying to get flashback on my portacath, so the chemo had to go in via a peripheral IV line instead. By the end of the day, after some fancy acrobatics, we finally got some flashback, which meant that I could go home with the infusion attached. Technically if there is no flashback, you can’t use the port, because you can’t be certain that it has not moved. So, given that this is the third time there has been difficulty, we are going to get a dye study done sometime in  the next few weeks to verify the ports position. Once it has been established that it hasn’t moved, then we don’t need the flashback to use port.

Apart from all of that drama, chemo 14.0 has been characterised by nausea, lethargy and diarrhoea. These are the three mainstays of chemo it would seem. Having had 14 rounds under the belt now, I have to be honest, my patience is starting to wear a little thin, as there is literally no end in sight for it, or at least not an end worth contemplating.

Finally, I should be getting a CT scan this week, with results the week or so after, so lets hope and pray that the nodes are still static.

Till next time..

  1. Maree
    July 28, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Hi Jared,

    Sorry to hear about the issues with your portacath and your chemo treatment – you don’t need that 😦

    I’ll be praying about your CT scan results and also about the dye study for your poracath.

    Congratulations on passing your case study – well done!

    Love and blessings, M

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

