Home > Cancer Update > Oncology 7.0

Oncology 7.0

Well, the most recent scan has come and gone, and because I had a 3 week break in between rounds, I have only got the results back today.

Essentially, the scan shows no change, i.e. ‘stable disease’. This is pretty much the same result that we have had all year, but this is not a bad thing. What it means is that we are getting response from the cancer in that it is not growing. The goal from the chemotherapy regime is just that, to hold the cancer at bay for as long as possible, and to extend my life for as long as possible.

After discussion with the oncologist a few weeks back, it would seem that I’m already doing better than the average person with my diagnosis and my chemotherapy regime. On average 1 in 5 people on this regime (FOLFIRI) are hospitalized during the first 6 months of treatment from side effects alone. On the whole, I have had fairly manageable side effects. I generally feel like rubbish when on chemo, but recover well, and I’m able to continue with life in-between rounds relatively unhindered.

So that is the latest on progression/non-progression of the illness. Round 15 chemo starts this friday, and I’m hoping that with a bit more free time on my hands that I will be able to update this blog with some more meaningful posts in the not too distant future.

Till next time…

  1. kristiananderson
    August 4, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    1 in 5…. cool. So you and me combined is 2 in 5.

    I had a feeling I was getting away with it quite lightly.

  2. rhys
    August 4, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    good-ish news bro! keep fighting this thing. hope TI year is not toooo taxing, catch you soon.

  3. Frances
    August 4, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    15 rounds, fighting stuff. And a whole lot of living in between. You’re a champ.

  4. Josie
    August 4, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Hmmm. Better than bad news I guess. Thanks for the update.

  5. Maree
    August 24, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Hi Jared,

    Thanks for the update, glad it hasn’t increased in size. Am continuing to pray for you. M

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

