Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 15.0 and Oncology 7.2

Chemo 15.0 and Oncology 7.2

After a prolonged five week break, I have finally had round 15 of chemo.

It seems that it was both simultaneously worse, and yet better. I think the worse parts of it were solely due to the loss of tolerance, and the fact that I was five weeks chemo free, giving me a taste of what pseudo good health is like. It was better in that I took a lot less anti-emetic medications, and didn’t feel as though I needed them to the same degree as previous rounds. So that was an improvement.

Of course, I am now officially off the drug trial now, meaning that chemo goes a couple of hours quicker on a friday. I’m pretty sure I was on placebo anyway, and on the off chance that I was actually on the trial drug, there is no evidence that it confers any benefit, which is the reason for the trial in the first place. If, it did infer benefit, the goal of the drug is purely to elongate life, outcome (i.e. death) still does not change. So, all things being equal, I decided to give it the kick and make my life much easier by not being on it.

Ultimately, the decision could be lumped into one of either two philosophical camps. The first being that you do all and everything in your power to fight cancer, that whatever opportunity comes your way you take and prioritise over everything else. The second camp is where ย you weigh up the evidence, and disregard emotive motivation. It’s where you make a decision based on probabilistic analysis of the information at hand, understanding that there is risk with whatever way you may sway in that process. I decided on the latter philosophy. Largely this comes from how I am wired as a person, and also the fact that emotive decisions can very easily lead you on wild goose chases from this potential cure to the next. There is always another hoop to jump through when you are looking for something to cure your cancer.

So now, over the next few weeks, I continue with work on the colorectal team at Auckland hospital (ironically the same team who is looking after me), and am looking at arranging some elective time on the liver transplant team after that.

And then… in the scarely not too distant future…… I qualify….

Till next time…

  1. rhys
    August 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    ironic indeed! bring on graduation!

    • Jared
      August 24, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      I believe the surgeon is a relative of yours Rhys ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Maree
    August 24, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I second Rys’s comment!!

    You have a lot of support out there Jared! Praying for you – hang in there buddy.

    Love and blessings,
    M ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Catherine
    August 30, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    A brave and hard decision. Remember Jesus promise “I am with you always”- we can hang on to His lifeline. Looking forward to soon seeing the graduation pics.

  4. September 4, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Jared, I marvel at your ability to become a doctor (no small task!!!) and have chemo at the same time!! While I was having chemo it felt as though my brain still worked, but only in my head, so I couldn’t articulate outside of myself. Very bizarre – and definitely not doctor material. You should be so proud of yourself!! Can’t wait to see those graduation photos ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

