Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 16.0

Chemo 16.0

The rounds of chemotherapy are beginning to pile on top of each other. Each is blurring with the next and the previous. My body is showing the signs of wear and tear, and my mental stamina is at points near breaking.

Welcome to round 16.

It has come and gone, and this time, without a 5 week reprieve prior, it is arguably less tolerable. The nausea was ever present, the fatigue is something that really has to be experienced to be understood, and the diarrhoea makes for conversation inappropriate for the dinner table.

There is nothing particularly new to report on this round, apart from what I suspect is the slow but relentless wearing down of my body and my mind with each subsequent round. I am often exhausted, and when I prepare to return to work on day 6 post chemo, there is a sense that I never really had a break. Work however continues to keep me motivated, and continues to fuel my passion for medicine. It is a welcome distraction from my slow physical and mental decline.

I wonder if I can make it to round 30….

Till next time…

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: ,
  1. Louise Reynolds
    September 8, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Hey Jared, Thoughts and prayers are with you….we have nothing to say, cos nothing will make it better. Much love to you and Hannah and the rest of your family – our hearts are full. We can pray -and we will keep praying….

  2. Maree
    September 20, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    I echo Louise’s comment. I also want to add that I’m thinking of Kristian and his family also and praying for them too. Our home-group have four other young people who also have cancer who we are praying for and one of them is a little four year old girl. We are learning through the help of the Holy Spirit how to pray which can be a painful but necessary process. Love to you and Hannah. Mx

  3. September 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Hi Jared. It was great to meet you down in Dunedin and to share one of my passions in life with you – coffee. It is always great for me to read your updates and I do appreciate your openess in which you share with us. Bless you brother!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

