Home > Photography > Te Anau, Pukaki, Wanaka – Collabor:8

Te Anau, Pukaki, Wanaka – Collabor:8

Once again I find myself in a conundrum of trying to work out what to post. Here are some photos from a recent trip to the South Island. The first is of Lake Te Anau, the gateway to the Milford Sound. It was taken at dusk, about 9.30/9.45 at night on a 30 second exposure. The lightness of the photo makes you think it was a lot lighter than it actually was.

Shutter 30s, f/11, ISO 200, 10mm

The second photo is a photo of Lake Pukaki. The bluest lake ever… apparently it is from glaciers feeding the lake that grind up rocks into ‘rock flour’ and that is where it’s colour comes from. A polarising filter goes a long way eliminating non-polar light in the shot as well.

Shutter 1/100, f/11, ISO 100, 10mm with polarising filter.

The final photo is from Mt Roy, near Wanaka. The view is over Lake Wanaka, with the city to the left off the photo. We got a helicopter tour of the area which was nice, cos climbing to this hight probably would have killed me 🙂

Shutter 1/400, f/10, ISO 200, 19mm with polarising filter.

  1. November 25, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Nice one. Love that part of the country!
    J.

  2. frances
    November 25, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Great photos all. Te Anau probably my favourite. We could put in an order for that one.

  3. November 26, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Great photography. Would it be okay if I put a few up on my site? I read a few of your comments. I use my site as sort of a self therapy and reflection on life. I know my time is limited here on earth as well. I could use some of your passion in life. It looks like you have many people who love you, Jared. Your heart is real and sincere. Doesn’t sound bitter, but I am sure you have times. I would like to learn that. I will put your site up as a link. Phil

    • Jared
      November 26, 2010 at 8:40 pm

      That is fine, I just please request that you reference the photos back to my blog. Thanks for your comments.

  4. Maree
    December 26, 2010 at 2:24 am

    Fantastic shot – thanks for posting 🙂

  5. Maree
    December 26, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Such a picturesque area of NZ isn’t it? You have captured this so well. Thank you for sharing these with us! Love, Mx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

