Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 22.0

Chemo 22.0

The record at Auckland hospital for my regime is 32 rounds.. I’m only 10 rounds off beating it!… However, I’m informed that hardly anyone makes it to the second decade, so I am already a statistical outlier.

This round has come and gone, and really floored me this time. The nausea was pretty good compared to previous rounds, although there were a few close calls. It was the fatigue that was unusually bad. I slept pretty much all the time from friday through to monday. I have given up trying to make correlations with why one round of chemo might be better or worse than another, there seems to be no rhyme or reason to it’s random nature. Each round is an entity to itself, and therefore, must addressed on an individual basis.

Some continuity in my life would be nice though, particularly continuity that did not require chemotherapy.

On a slightly different note, my cancer markers are starting to creep up… that is a space that must also be watched.

Till next time…

Categories: Cancer Update
  1. Ruth
    December 15, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Christmas without Chemo is an awesome thought for you. Look forward to that stuffed Turkey!!xx

  2. Gail
    December 19, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    My husband has his 28th chemo treatment next Tuesday. He is on Folfiri and was having Avistan but this week he is starting Erbitux as our oncologist said it it now available for $33.60 a time instead of $4500. Hope the side effects of this aren’t to bad. His CEA count has been going up again but at this stage they are unsure of why.
    Take care and enjoy Christmas with family and friends.
    Gail

  3. Petro
    December 23, 2010 at 9:40 am

    God Bless boy! Hang in there. Jesus will never forsake you. I know, I lost my husband in August and my son in November, but He knows why…
    Have a great Christmas!

  4. Maree
    December 26, 2010 at 2:17 am

    Hi Jared, thanks for the update – will keep praying for you.

  5. Alan Torrance
    January 4, 2011 at 7:53 am

    Hi Jared,
    We’ve never met but I’ve heard the most fabulous things about you from Sandy and Frances Ross who are dear friends – and they are seriously discriminating!
    You and Hannah feature continually in our family prayers. I lost my dear wife to cancer almost three years ago and desperately hope and pray that a miracle happens in your case!
    Every good wish and all strength for the year ahead – from chilly Scotland,
    Alan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

