Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 23.0

Chemo 23.0

After having a month off chemo, I hit back with chemo number 23. Skipping a round is simultaneously good and bad for the soul. It is a nice reprieve from the pleasantaries of chemotherapy, but at the same time, having too much time off lulls you into a false sense of security that everything might be normal…

The reality is for me, apart from my bowel obstruction 2 years ago, the only way in which cancer has actually impacted my life is through the effects of chemotherapy. I have never had any associated cancer pain, any decline in organ function, or any mass effects from the cancer impinging on nerves or vascular structures. Therefore, the absence of chemotherapy is like a little window into what life might be like without cancer.

This round featured less intense nausea, but an increase in the duration of nausea. It wasn’t really until Monday evening that I began to feel my normal self. I also felt a bit under the weather on my first 2 days back at work. I was functional, but feeling pretty tired for a lot of the day. I don’t plan on breaking from my fortnightly schedule until march now, so…

Round 24 is next….

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: , ,
  1. Sandy Ross
    January 15, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Very brave of you then to pick up extra weekend duties. All the best for those.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

