Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 26.0

Chemo 26.0

This post is a little delayed largely due to two things, distraction by the tragedy in Christchurch, and long work hours.

Round 26 was yet another onslaught of Chemotherapy. This time it was compounded by the fact that between round 25 and 26, I was unwell for about 7 days with a viral upper respiratory tract infection. Interestingly the cold was quick to hit (in a matter of hours) and slow to resolve. I imagine this reflects the fact that chemo is immunosuppressive, and my body just doesn’t have the reserve to mount as effective a response to infection that it once did. Although technically my white cells and neutrophil count were not down, I think it is fair to say that mobilization of lymphocytes and immunoglobulin production are impaired in the presence of DNA disruptive chemotherapy agents.

All of this added up to getting three days of work before being taken out of action for the week leading up to round 26. I never had a well period in between rounds, and subsequently entered 26 feeling pretty average and very exhausted. I am now enjoying the 26-27 hiatus, feeling back to my normal self.

Beyond that, chemo was as homogenous as the previous rounds, with the same set of side effects I usually get. I was however, flattened with incessant hiccuping on Saturday, which I haven’t had since early last year. Hiccuping for hours on end is not the most pleasant of experiences. It is hard to say what the variable is that brought them back this round, so hopefully they stay away.

Until next time…

  1. Maree
    March 1, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Hi Jared,

    Yeah, sorry you have to put up with these awful side-effects. I pray you won’t have the hiccups next round.

    Mx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

