Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 27.0

Chemo 27.0

Well, that round of chemotherapy was one of the roughest yet. Dry retching over a toilet bowel, awake for only a few hours each day, and unable to eat for 36 hours. I didn’t quite vomit, but for the first time ever, I really wanted to… I just couldn’t make it happen.

It probably didn’t help that I went into the round with 50 hours of work clocked up on the mon-thurs prior to friday’s dose of toxins. I have long since decided there is no rhyme or reason to chemotherapy and it’s side effects. Each round is as unique as a fingerprint, yet follows the same theme of progressive worsening.

I’m pretty exhausted. Not just in a physical sense, I can sleep to regain that, but in an emotional I-have-just-had-27-rounds-of-chemotherapy sense. I need a break to let my body recover, and I wish cancer would respond to less brutal treatment regimens.

I get the small break, but not the change in treatment. My next chemo is 3 weeks away instead of the standard 2. I have just over a weeks leave, and have shunted the next round of chemo to accommodate it. it’s a nice temporarily relief.

’till next round.

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: , ,
  1. Jazz
    March 12, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Hi Jared,
    Just found your blog. I have Stage IV nsclc (adenocarcinoma histology). What was the study drug you were on? Was it cetuximab (Erbitux)? Has your tumor been tested for molecular markers? Are you able to access any targeted therapy at all, through a clinical trial or otherwise? Your performance status sounds very good, and you’re young, already an outlier…I imagine the pharmaceutical companies might be able to provide financial aid to you for 3rd or 4th-line treatment. I realize the idea of doing this sort of battle may be antithecal to your philosophy, however, your survival doesn’t seem purely self-serving (as you are a healer yourself). Just curious.

    Best wishes,
    Jazz

  2. Maree
    March 12, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Hi Jared,

    Yeah, the chemo treatment sucks, sorry you have to put up with the horrible side-effects from it 😦 Will be praying the next round will be an
    “improvement” on this one. Thinking of you and praying always, M

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

