Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 32.0

Chemo 32.0

Well, the most recent round of chemotherapy ended up being one of my more tolerated rounds. I had all the same symptoms as previously, but the recovery was noticeably quicker than round 31, and I was back to energy much sooner.

It is nice to come out of a round of chemotherapy praising its side effects, or lack thereof. I think that the routine of fortnightly chemotherapy and its misery means that when you are well, or better than miserable, you appreciate it. I once blogged on the beautiful and the ugly a year or so ago, which basically explored this very phenomena; that is, it is only when you have to deal with the crap and the ugly in your life, that you can truly appreciate the beauty and wonder of it. It is through the nausea and fatigue and diarhoea that I feel so blessed to be well in between rounds of chemotherapy, and ironically, sometimes in the round itself when it is not as bad as anticipated.

I should point out that I am not deleriously happy about chemotherapy, the last round was still fraught with all the usual suspects that make it such a villain in my life, its just that when it is not as bad as expected, there is a new appreciation of what it is to be well.

It is through my misery that I have learnt to love life even more.

It is through my nausea that living has become all the more valuable.

Until next round.

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: ,
  1. Maree
    June 16, 2011 at 12:59 am

    Hi Jared,

    Thankful you recovered more quickly from this latest round of chemo, I have been
    praying for you that the side effects would be less than the prevous round.
    Love to you and Hannah,

    Maree 🙂

  2. June 19, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    Hey Jared,

    Reading your blogs completely puts life into perspective. The small issues we may worry about seem so small. Your an inspirational man. Every time I have an issue I try to think of you and the battle you continually fight. Keep going strong man.
    Take Care,

    Ryan 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

