Home > Blog, Interviews and Talks > This week in TV

This week in TV

Along my meandering travels through cancer, its ups and downs and fortnightly nausea, a number of unexpected and sometimes surreal opportunities have come my way. Speaking to 4300 people at Easter was one of many things that have happened to me as a product of just sharing my story and being up front and honest about the journey Hannah and I are on.

To add to this unfolding saga of my life, I have recently become the ambassador for Beat Bowel Cancer Aotearoa. This is a

nationwide, patient led organisation committed to reducing the impact of bowel cancer on our community through awareness, education and support.

It is interesting to read the list of fellow ambassadors, the likes of Sir Paul Callaghan, Christopher Doig, Shane Jones MP, John Carter MP, Willie Lose, Fleur Sullivan, and at the bottom, Dr. Jared Noel. It is ironic that bowel cancer, the illness that has defined the last 2 1/2 years of my life, now leads me to such a list that might include the aforementioned names of people who have shared considerable success in their own lives, yet also have somehow been affected by the same disease.

Cancer doesn’t discriminate. An egalitarian principle that even humanity often struggles to achieve.

So, as the next week unfolds, you will find me on the flat (or curved if you are still in the era of CRT) screens in the corner of your room at the two following times.

1. Tomorrow Morning, Tuesday the 7th of June, TV1, on Breakfast with Petra and Corin at 0850hrs.

2. Thursday evening, 9th of June, TV2, on 20/20. A story profiling both my Journey, and that of another girl Claire, who shares the same diagnosis as myself.

It would be nice to have a profile done on you for reasons other than your own journey towards the inevitable, but that is not the life I have found myself in. I am intrigued as to how this week will unfold.

Till next time…

  1. Chel
    June 9, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Hey Jared, Hannah, I cannot begin to tell you how sorry I am you have to go through this, I know exactly where you are and how hard it is, I lost my husband of 6 years just 4 years ago to Bladder Cancer he too was only young at 38. I am amazed at your journey so far and just to read how much you have been through and overcome is incredible. Stay strong and keep smiling you guys are one amazing couple. Kia Kaha.

    Chel

  2. CCB
    June 9, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Hi Jared, was good to see your story tonight and I wish you all the best. I would like a bit of advice or any suggestions as even better you are a Doctor if you could please help and/or share anything. I would like to know if you know of people getting a cramp like pain in there lower left hand side (frontal) just under the left lower rib as I have been living with this for a couple of years and had similar symptons to Bowel cancer but have had an x-ray, scan and colenoscopy and they can’t find anything? It’s still there and mainly troubles me at night when lying flat (which I can’t anymore and have to prop up) in bed. It comes on like a constant cramp pain in the middle of the night and usually disappears after waking and at work for an hour. Anything would be greatly appreciated, thanks very much. CB

  3. Neil Hannan
    June 9, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    i too am on the same journey with terminal bowel cancer but having seen you on 2020 and read the blogs, I have to say I feel most fortunate to have been 61 years old when diagnosed thus have a family and career to look back on so my heart goes out to you, I hope your treatment extends your time to the max to enable you to cram as much of life in as possible in the time left to you. I love the spirit and attitude you have within this illness and am positive this will serve you well to achieve as many goals as you wish possible.
    Luck, best wishes and regards,
    Neil

  4. colin mackay
    June 9, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    hi jarad-i heard you speak at promise keepers in ch last year and your so so sad story touched me in a huge way-i was delighted to see tonight on 20/20 that your strength continues-i will pray hard for you both

  5. Trish Epati
    June 10, 2011 at 1:06 am

    hi jarad, I saw you on 20/20 tonight. For the past 10 years I’ve worked with an ex doctor (a cancer survivor)in the area of natural health. Have recently been researching cancer for a friend and came across an Aust documentary on DVD of some very interesting treatment for melanomas with powerful testimonials. Found the featuring naturopath on the Gold Coast to find he’s working with patients with serious malignancies. It looks promising…and wondered if you’d like to read what he’s sent me so far. Only trying to help..and if it’s not for you that’s fine. Trish

  6. Kelly T
    June 10, 2011 at 1:20 am

    Hi there Jared, it was delightful to watch your story tonight on 2020. The main thought that came to mind was WOW. I was so inspired by the fact the to me, you have accomplished a great deal in life at such a young age. There aren’t many in this world who can complete such difficult and long study as you have done. Im am 22 and a wish and pray that I can do even half as much as you have done by the time I am 30. I have not accomplished anything thus far which I think is worth even acknowledging, but I do keep hope that I can and will one day be as awesome as you.
    I wish you and your beautiful wife all the best.
    Take care
    Kelly

  7. lowie
    June 10, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Hi Jared I also watched 2020 lasr night and was inspired by yours and Clares stories I was diagnoised with bowel cancer last november and have been having preventative chemo which I have not coped with very well over the last four months watching your stories last night re reminded me that staying positive is so important thank you for sharing your story with us all, my best wishes to you and Hannah regards lowie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

