Home > Cancer Update, Travel > Chemo 35.0 (and a hiatus)

Chemo 35.0 (and a hiatus)

Well my last round for a few weeks has come and gone, and for whatever reason, this was a surprisingly tolerable round. I was still miserable, but if you were to grade miserableness, which I have increasingly got better at, it was at the lighter end of the scale. However, the tradeoff was a slightly slower recovery that I might normally have had. Also, to add insult to injury, I have had a really hard time sleeping over the past few nights, even with pharmaceutical supplements.

Following round 35 came my last two days of work in the cardiothoracic unit, and a talk that I did at the medschool. This talk was on wednesday evening, and about 120 people showed up for it which was pretty surprising!! I was expecting maybe 60-70. The room was packed, and I followed a seminar type format with some Q and A at the end. It seemed to be received well, but then it’s always hard to know. No one wants to be the one to tell a dying man he sucks. ๐Ÿ™‚

From here, comes a sabbatical of sorts. Four weeks, slow paced, adventure filled, exploring Peru. We depart on Saturday afternoon, and won’t be back till the beginning of September, where I start in Older Peoples Health.

… So, this basically means that this blog will quieten down for a bit. It may be that whilst I’m sunning myself in the shadow of the Andes I get all reflective and decide to write something as llamas stroll past and guinea pigs are being roasted… But to be honest, I doubt it.

So for a little while, see you soon…

  1. Sharee
    July 28, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Have a great time in Peru guys…..sounds wonderful….and well needed.
    Enjoy the rest. =)
    Love Sharee & Brendon

  2. Ursula
    July 29, 2011 at 12:05 am

    You gave a fantastic talk! It was so well received that your 20/20 interview was posted on our class Facebook page ๐Ÿ™‚ Your message is self-propagating… Have a great time in Peru.

  3. Anna
    July 29, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Hope you and Hannah have a fantastic time away ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy your new lens, and come back with some amazing shots!!

  4. Maree
    July 31, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Hi Jared and Hannah,

    I hope you have a wonderful time in Peru! May God grant you travelling mercies and His abundant blessings.

    Look forward to seeing your photos!

    Love, Maree ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jane
    August 1, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Like the ones before me….I hope you and Hannah have a wonderful time in Peru. Travelling mercies and God’s blessings to you both.

  6. August 2, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Hey
    I’ve just come across your blog and read your posts from June and July and also watched the links. You’ve done a great job of keeping up the writing, I’m sure that hasn’t been easy but I’m sure it’s been inspirational to so many.
    I keep a blog to keep people updated too but no where near as much as you. My son was diagnosed with a brain tumour at 9 months old and finished chemo beginning of the year. If you’re interested: http://www.elijahmichaelbarnard@blogspot.com (He’s now almost 3:)
    Just thought I’d also say I’m sure I’ve met Hannah before, she looks so familiar!
    Anyway. Have a great break.
    Eleanor

  7. Debbie
    August 6, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    Hi J and H,
    I saved your blog and also Claire’s over a month ago, and have only just got round to reading them thoroughly. What can I say, You are both brave souls and I find it so interesting reading that you are able to share your journey so openly.
    I have just finished reading “Sing no Sad songs” by Sandra Arnold. A story of a mother losing her 23 yr old daughter to a rare appendix cancer, and I fully intend to get “my brothers shadow”
    Enjoy your travels and looking forward to your updates on your return
    Best of luck to both of you
    Debbie

    • Jared
      August 31, 2011 at 10:08 pm

      Thanks for your comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Sam
    August 16, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    Hey man, just wanted to say thank you so much for sharing your journey. It’s good for the soul. Confronting our mortality illuminates life so much. Bless you heaps.

  9. kate
    August 22, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    I have just found your blog (and Claire’s story too) – I wish I had a year ago. I’ve had a very similar experience (am 42yrs with Stage 4 bowel cancer. I also did the clexane thing too). It’s interesting the differences in regime though. I did 7 months of Oxaliplatin/flouracil through IV (took an extra month due to illness and earthquakes). had a 6 wk break then started on capecitabine…my heart hated that one so I was taken off it and will start irinotecan in a couple of weeks time. My hands and feet are still pretty rubbish – esp my feet, I have used nortriptiline to get rid of the pain….I just didn’t want to stay on it as i was taking so many things it was getting to be ridiculous. I am amazed that you can do so much while on treatment….I was knocked around by the Folfox badly. Have a fabulous time in Peru, Wishing you all the best. Kate

    • Jared
      August 31, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      Hi Kate. As always, i’m saddened to hear of any diagnosis that is similar to mine. Where are you getting treatment, and what is your prognosis? I hope the new regime will be less harsh on your body. Keep in touch.

  10. Naomi
    August 31, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Hey Jared and Hannah,

    Special blessings to you both for a fantastic holiday in Peru together ๐Ÿ™‚ I first heard Jared’s testimony when my sister lent me a Promise Keepers DVD. I cried for ages and have been praying for you both since and have you on my heart often.

    Just wanted to let you both know that when praying for you I have this distinct impression of Moses removing his sandals โ€˜because the place where you stand is Holy Ground’. The spiritual โ€˜landscapeโ€™ you are in Jared, none of us can even remotely comprehend or conceive of, but my heart goes out to you, and I feel so privileged and often strengthened by your openness, courage and faith.

    May a special Grace be on you both.

    Love and blessings,
    Naomi, Auckland

    • Jared
      August 31, 2011 at 10:12 pm

      Hi Naomi.

      Thanks for your comment, and for your prayers. I’m glad that my story has helped encourage you. I have always found it greatly encouraging in return when I know others have been blessed by the journey that I have found myself on. God Bless.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

