Home > Cancer Update > Oncology 12.0

Oncology 12.0

September 19, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Three days after I got back from Peru, I had a CT scan. It was actually booked whilst I was away, despite repeated requests and information about my absence for the month of August, so the original appointment was rescheduled to the Thursday after getting back in NZ.

Essentially, this CT showed exactly what we suspected it would. The cancer is still growing, but at a slow rate. The lymph node that began growing on the last CT scan (para-aortic) now measures 41 x 37mm in size, previously measured at 40 x 31mm. One of the other three nodes has increased by 1mm across its shortest axis, whilst the remaining 2 nodes are the same size.

This progress in growth still satisfies the criteria for stable disease. The cancer is growing, but its growing slow enough to be considered still responding to the chemotherapy. This basically means, that for the next 3 months or so, until the next CT scan, chemo will continue as per the existing fortnightly regime.

Interestingly I was booked into another oncologist’s clinic last week, and this one (who I had not met before) was astounded at how many rounds of chemo I had done. Nice to see I’m breaking ground on that front, I think I’ll buy the nurses all cake on round 40 :-).

Until next time…

  1. Simon
    September 20, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Hi Jared, Ive just been listening to your story on Rhema & found this blog afterwards. If anything that I have learned with dealing with my own ill health is that our bodies are an amazing creation that is intimidating in its compexity. I was once told by a christian doctor that we know about 3%. Even that is optimistic I think. I am humbled by gods creation in every sence. I have also learned that if the body is given the correct tools it has amazing healing ability. I have come up with a three word moto from this concept….As God Intended, or As God Provided (before man in his wisdom mucked around with everthing!)
    I recommended watching “Healing Cancer from Inside out”, “Food Matters” & look up the Gerson Therapy. All are on the same principles of detoxify & nourish the body. As a benchmark Dr. Max Gerson had a 50% success rate with terminal patients. These are Non profit organisations. Well worth a look.
    May God bless you in your walk.
    I will keep an ear out for you testimony.

    Simon.

  2. Suzanne
    September 22, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Hey Jared, The nurses should buy YOU a cake at round 40! Just wondering if you have indeed done any diet-adjustments, as so many people recommend? Could be an interesting blog post. Take care mate, I’m thinking of you. Enjoy that rugby game – wish I could be there!
    -Suzanne.

    • Jared
      September 22, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      hmmm, I never thought of that! Except that generally I’m not so big on the food when I’m on chemo. 🙂 I haven’t really done any diet adjustments, largely because my diet was more or less okay before all this happened, and the data that exists about certain foods tend to be more along the lines of cancer preventative, meaning that once I have cancer, then food doesn’t really influence outcome. Eating healthy does influence wellbeing, but wellbeing has to be separated out from outcome in terms of what you are hoping to achieve with any particular diet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

