Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 39.0

Chemo 39.0

One more round of chemo closer to a milestone that shouldn’t be measured.

… yet my life is measured in such increments.

This most previous round was a lot rougher than some of the earlier ones. No rhyme, no reason, but the nausea more apparent, the fatigue more palpable, and the ongoing abdominal pain that almost sent me to the ED on Sunday night. Its such a fine line when one wonders whether or not I should be going to the hospital for symptoms. Do I walk the road of the hypochondriac, or the stoic patient who foolishly refuses treatment. Its not as clear cut as it should be, even when I’m a doctor. At least when I’m treating patients and making decisions I have empirical evidence to guide my judgement, blood tests, radiology results, the clinical exam. All apart from the latter I lack at home. Fortunately a chemical cocktail of non-steroidal anti-inflammatories, paracetmol, and sedatives allowed sleep to beat the pain… and in the morning, relief.

I’m not entirely sure what caused it, but it was transient, and it resolved (mostly), which is good enough for me to ignore it for now. I shall address it should I encounter it again.

Two more weeks until I make the 40th round mark. I wish I got something to celebrate with rather than the nausea and misery I usually get. I guess I’m grateful that I get a bit more life to live from it, that in itself is reward enough… Although life itself is not very useful unless you do something meaningful with it. There are 7 billion people in the world now living their own unique life, I wonder how many of them make it a meaningful one….

Till next time..

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: ,
  1. Dyana Parore-Connell
    November 3, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Your poor thing. Hang on in there. Yes it can be a rough road but hey your life expectancy will be longer and one day you will be able to be normal again (whatever normal is.) hee hee. Many of us feel your journey and can empathise as we toooooooooooooooooo have been down that road. Surround yourself with positive people and positive thoughts. Cheers. Dyana

  2. Delia Smith
    November 3, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    Hey thanks for keeping up the updates. Sharing both the good and the pain is meaningful – a whole story. I hope that the mystery baddominal pain keeps its distance. Stunning photos by the way. Sending you an awkward stranger hug 🙂 Blessings, Delia.

  3. daryl shoebridge
    November 21, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    hey jarrod its daryl here we used to go to church together at glen eden, can’t even imagine what you must be going thru hopefully you have more good days than bad, and hopefully the abdominal pain that you have been having will not return, good of you to share whats happening in your life saw the doco on 20/20 awhile ago, sorry haven’t kept in contact, be good to stay in touch now thinking of you and will keep you in my prayers, kept fighting bro

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

