Home > Cancer Update > Chemo 45.0 and 46.0

Chemo 45.0 and 46.0

Well, again I have been slow to update. In large part it has been because between rounds of chemo I have been working long hours and burning the candle at both ends. The net result has been lack of time or energy. Paradoxically, the long hours whilst in part exhausting when run in parallel with chemotherapy, have been satisfying. I am learning that I am increasingly finding an affinity for general surgery as a specialty, and that it would be the career I would embark on if not for current health limitations. Having said that, there are workings underfoot that may come into play once I know the outcome of my next CT scan and have a little more certainty about my expiry date.

The last two rounds of chemo have involved some experimentation of my anti-emetic medications, and to somewhat limited success. Prior to round 45, I took my apprepitant a little earlier before my round, and arrived late so commenced chemo a little later than normal. What I discovered was that for the hour before chemo when I had taken the apprepitant, I experience some fairly horrendous anticipatory nausea, and chemo hadn’t even started yet. So, in the spirit of the scientific method round 46 was a trial involving no apprepitant as this anti-nausea tablet seemed to be ironically causing nausea.

… This trial of sample size n=1 was a complete failure. Round 46 was easily the WORST round of chemotherapy I have had to date. Dry retching became vomiting, and vomiting became regular. I spent a lot of time with my head in the toilet, learning that tim-tams aren’t the best to regurgitate, and lemon powerade retains its flavour for quite sometime after being ingested. The irony of such a terrible round was that I recovered fairly well afterwards, perhaps even better than previously. The lesson for this failed experiment is that my apprepitant will be maintaining a permanent fixture in my anti-emetic regime.

Currently, I’m doing a small set of night shifts for work, and this weekend marks the crossover from my surgical run to an ED run next quarter. ED will only be 0.5 full-time, but since there are plenty of vacancies still, I will have the chance to fill in the gaps with a few locum shifts.

In other unrelated news, Hannah and I are only 3 and 1/2 weeks away from a 3 week holiday in Italy. We are really looking forward to that. Also I have a CT scan in a few weeks which will be a major stop/go intersection for the future ahead. Is the cancer responding, or is it progressing…..

Only time will tell…

Until next time.

  1. Theresa
    August 24, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Nice to hear from you on Daffidol Day I thought of you as I donated and I wear “Hope” on my wristband for you & all those I know with cancer.
    Praying for you.. You Amazing hard working Doctor!! (I’m married to one too ๐Ÿ™‚ you are all fabulous!!) Kia kaha

    Theresa V (friend of Andrea Grant)

  2. scott bartlett
    August 24, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Have a great time in Italy guys. It will be amazing.

  3. murray
    August 24, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Hi Jared, as good an update as one would expect, your holiday in Italy will be extremely welcoming for you both, it’s amazing how you keep on keeping on with all you have been through, you are uplifing to many of us at times that think we have it hard. Who knows what is around the corner for any of us, my thoughts go with you with your travels and may god bless you in every capacity possible.

  4. Peter Choi
    August 25, 2012 at 12:40 am

    God bless, enjoy italy!

  5. Geoff Wiklund
    August 25, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    Sitting at PK Christchurch where I heard you speak and prayed with you. Thinnk of you often and continue to believe for a great ending to the story. Have a wonderful holiday. Geoff

  6. Dyana Parore-Connell
    August 25, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Hi Jared. you are an amazing person with great determination to get through your treatments and still manage to work. You are a legend. Have a great time in Italy with Hannah.

  7. Hetty
    August 27, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Hi Jared,

    Thanks for the update.

    Have a blast in Italy. Take care Hetty x

  8. Cath purdy
    September 3, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    Hi Jared.
    Your strength and determination are so inspiring. I took 8 months off work with my chemo/radiation and couldn’t imagine doing 0.5! Lorazepam was the best thing for my anticipatory nausea, then the apprepitant. I often see you working at the hospital, but have never come up to say hello. Partly because your work weeks are not about your cancer. They are about your future, and I don’t want to interrupt that. Please know I think about you and hannah a lot. I hope you love Italy – throw a coin in the trevy fountain – for when you get to go back.

    Cath Purdy
    Anaesthetic reg – Auckland

    • Jared
      September 4, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Hi Cath,

      Have we actually met? Definitely come introduce yourself if you see me around. It is true that my work weeks are not about cancer, but it is inevitable that cancer becomes somewhat consuming in my life, and I’m certainly happy to stop and chat. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lorazepam does seem to work a treat, but I end up forgetting everything I read/watch when I have taken it, which is a bit frustrating.

      It would be good to meet you.

      Jared.

  9. Delphine
    September 4, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Good to hear from you. I keep reading your blig and i read your twitter. I hope your holidays will be good.

  10. September 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Hi Jared. You don’t know me but I came across your name on the Beat Bowel Cancer Website. I too have bowel cancer and am on chemo and am unsure of my expiry date. Somehow it was encouraging to read your blog even thought you are going through a horrible time. You sound very pragmatic about the whole thing which is interesting. How people cope with their cancer interests me. Anyway , I will try to follow you on your blog and twitter ( although I haven’;t really worked out how twitter works)
    Cheers Rosey

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

