Home > Blog, Interviews and Talks > Quick Update: TV edition

Quick Update: TV edition

I know I have been absent for a little bit, life has been busy over the past few weeks, and I will write a bit more in due course, but this is a post for a quick heads up that I will be on 20/20 on Thursday the 1st of November, TV2 at 9.30pm. They are doing a follow up story on me from last years article. 

Once its up online, I shall post a link on here, and I will also play a bit of catch up on the update front!

Categories: Blog, Interviews and Talks
  1. Christy Rolfe
    November 1, 2012 at 5:06 am

    That’s great Jared, raising public awareness is so important and it seems to be the personal story which makes most impact.
    – the ‘Don’t Sit on Your Symptoms’ posters we leave behind toilet doors are making some impression too, if on a less cerebral level !

  2. Delphine
    November 1, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Ok i will watch the video on internet. I hope the journey was good!

  3. November 1, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Hi. I just watched 20/20 and had to find your blog and say you and your wife are amazing. Not only dealing with cancer, but running a non profit cafe and everything else you do to contribute. Thanks for sharing your story. It was inspirational.

  4. john
    November 1, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    you’re a pretty amazing dude! I wish more had your positive attitude towards life!

  5. Kath
    November 1, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Hi Jared, I just watched your story on 20/20 and admire your positivity with your illness. My husband got diagnosed with a brain tumor age 29. We had a 16 month old baby, and our second son was born 10 days after he got diagnosed. The prognosis for my husband was not good, but he defied all odds and remained positive, still worked and surrounded himself around his family, friends and hobbies just like you do. Your story bought back a lot of memories. The doctors told him he had 18 month tops, but lived 5/12 years longer. I believe this was because of his positive attitude and also with the help of chemo and ops. I also want to acknowledge your wife, and say I am thinking of her too and that I think she amazingly positive too. Kia Kaha . Kath Mc.

  6. Lisa
    November 1, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    Hi Jared,
    Just watched your story on 20/20. The first time I saw you featured I hadnt had the news that my brother aged 35 had stage 4, therefore terminal, melanoma. Its in his bones – he is on the Braf drugs but it just a waiting game. My brother has the same great attitude that you do – life is for living, do everything you can while you are still here. I admire both of you – keep it up and good luck – all my best wishes to you and your family.

  7. Neru Leavasa
    November 1, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Just saw your story on 20/20 and wanted to say how great your faith is during your illness. I too am a doctor currently a GP reg in south Auckland. I was diagnosed with L) knee osteosarcoma then had metastases to my L) lung with several chemo cycles & surgeries when I was younger. I felt that I could use my experience in helping my patients so therefore went to Auckland med school. I’m a firm believer that God uses all things for good for those who are in Christ. We may not understand it but I believe He is always in control. Your faith and life is a huge encouragement for me and I’m sure for other people out there. God bless you and your family and keep shining your light for all to see. Praise the Lord.

  8. Aimee wealleans
    November 2, 2012 at 12:52 am

    Hello i watched the 20/20 tonight i completely take my hat of to jared you’re a awsome guy and will be a great inspiration to so many people.i lost my dad to bowl cancer in June this year and to see you on tv tonight brought tears to my eyes but gave me so much warmth at the same time.thankyou for showing me that even though hard things happen in life you still can battle on and live life to the fullest.much respect for you jarred.

  9. Dyana Parore-Connell
    November 2, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks for sharing your story. You are inspirational.

  10. November 3, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Hi Jared I am so inspired by your story you dont let life get you down, even having something such as cancer has not stopped you from working and from living your life to the full. I have lost a grandfather this year to cancer, I have a grandma with bowel cancer and have just had another grandfather diagnosed with leukemia in the bone marrow. Life is not easy at the moment my mother has gone to australia to be with my grandfather as we do not know how long he has, and am looking into different treatment options for him. I was feeling sorry for myself because of this and also because of being excommunicated in the past, having been sexually assaulted, and a nasty seperation, and my bpd and bipolar. I have tried to take my life many times through suicide as I did not want to live with this inner pain. But I realise from this 20/20 documentary if you can keep going and working and living life to the fullest when you have cancer than who am I to give up and you are struggling to hold on to your life and i am taking mine for granted. I love the fact that you seem to lap up every moment in life you dont know how long you are going to be here but you live every day to the fullest, I really admire that and I know now that I need to do the same. I need to forget the pain of the past and live for the present and not let days pass me by. Cos life is precious! I love the fact of you even seeing the beauty in a flower after the rain something that we take for granted. You are a real inspiration and I was blown away by your story. If you want to get in touch with me you are welcome my number is 0220696835 and I have a blog as well http://tashasthorts.blogspot.co.nz/
    thankyou again for sharing you truly do not know how many lives you have touched by your story. Tasha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

