Home > Blog, Cancer Update > Chemo 58, 59, and 60

Chemo 58, 59, and 60

I broke sixty rounds of chemotherapy.

The number seems somewhat surreal, as to imagine 60 continuous rounds of chemo is like trying to imagine a nightmare.  Back to back, this is 300 days of continuous nausea, dry retching, and fatigue.

I’m glad these rounds were punctuated with some sense of normality, with some sense that I still have control of my life. I often see long stay surgical patients on the ward and wonder how they keep their spirits up, for whilst I get to have a reprieve between each round of chemo, they often do not. They often have months as an inpatient, two steps forward and one step back, its a different kind of patience needed to endure than the one I have had to develop.

People often remark to me how well I have done to achieve 60 rounds of chemo, but I’m reluctant to accept the accolades. I firmly believe that when people are given challenges, no matter how big they might seem, its an opportunity to rise to meet them. There are definitely those that still roll over and let life’s burdens weigh them down, I see them in the hospital regularly, but there are also those that defy belief, that in the face of adversity, in the face of misery, still meet life head on regardless of what is thrown at them

I couldn’t imagine in my wildest dreams of ever tolerating 60 rounds of chemotherapy, but somehow I have. It hasn’t been easy…

But right there is a lesson for life, if you give up, you will achieve exactly what you expect… nothing.

However if you keep pushing forward, even when it hurts, even if it seems pointless, you create purpose in the situation you thought was purposeless.

Sometimes purpose isn’t there to be found, its there to be made.

Sometimes purpose was staring us in the face all along and we forgot to look for it.

How have I got through 60 rounds of chemo? Because I can’t help but notice the purpose God has created in my life despite my circumstance. 

Until next time….

Categories: Blog, Cancer Update
  1. emma
    May 10, 2013 at 1:48 am

    I have been following your blog from Denmark where I work as a drug developer.
    Take care your courage is awe inspiring

  2. Lester
    May 15, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Dear Jared, just wondered whether you have ever heard of a man called Dr. Mark Sircus. Whilst I don’t agree with his ideas concerning God and how we can know him,
    I believe he has information regarding curing cancer that might well benefit you. http://www.drsircus.com God bless you.

    • Jared
      May 17, 2013 at 1:57 pm

      Hi Lester,

      I havent heard of him, but after having a quick look at his page, I would have to say that most of what he is proposing is widely disregarded in the scientific and medical community. As such, I’m not personally interested in chasing the non-existent fairy tale cure, but thanks for sharing it.

      • Lester
        June 1, 2013 at 12:31 am

        Hi Jared – no problem, I understand your thinking – and would never want to even try to force you to do anything you didn’t think was scientific. I myself have had two bouts of cancer and understand some of the stresses and strains that come with it.

        Perhaps you might be more interested in the work that is currently being carried out with regard to “Savestrols” by Professor Gerry Potter and Professor Dan Burke, who are both associated with the De Montfort University in Leicester, England.
        Brian A Schaefer has recently written a book regarding the work they have been doing. The book is entitled, “Salvestrols, Nature’s Defence against Cancer.” ISBN 978-0-9783274-0-8

        The basic idea, which they have now scientifically proven, is that CYP1B1 (the enzyme that resides in all cancers, and only in cancerous tissue), takes the salvestrols (phytonutrients found in vine ripened fruits and vegetables) and converts them into metabolites, (natural chemotherapy agents), to kill cancerous tissue. These metabolites are only formed and utilised inside the cancer cells and nowhere else in the body. It appears to be the natural “magic bullet” to both ward off and rid the body of cancer, that I believe God (the God of the Bible that is), has designed into our bodies and the world he created for us, and which cancer drug researchers (of whom Professor Gerry Potter is second to none) have been doing their utmost over the last 10 years to synthetically replicate.
        Anyway, Jared – this is the most scientific, logical and hopeful information that I currently know of, that could also prove helpful to you. I sincerely encourage you to take a close look at this.
        In brotherly love,

        Lester

  3. vb1971
    May 16, 2013 at 11:47 am

    Hi Jared, I have just discovered your blog and have been so inspired by your story. I was diagnosed with Stage 4 colorectal cancer eighteen months ago at the age of 40 (mets to liver and peritoneum). After being told there was nothing that could be done other than palliative chemo I started fighting. I ended up having surgery which successfully removed the visible mets but suffered complications which saw me spend 2 months in ICU. My latest PET scan shows a recurrence so I was feeling really devastated until I came across your story. It gives me real hope that I might have more time to be with my children and husband than predicted by the stats. Thank you for sharing your story and wishing you all the best as you face this challenge.

    • Jared
      May 17, 2013 at 1:59 pm

      Hi, I’m always sorry to hear stories of bowel cancer and its effect on people. Thanks for sharing. I hope you manage to out live the predictions as well and enjoy the time you have left with you family. I wish you all the best in your fight.

  4. galliencharlotte@free.Fr
    May 30, 2013 at 9:53 am

    Jared,
    I found about your blog through a school friend of mine, Claire French, and have been drawn back many times to read about how you are doing. I am amazed by your courage, your endurance and your outlook on life. I am, fortunately, not battling any disease and I do not necessarily believe in God but I find you words comforting and moving on many levels. I often selfishly read your posts to help find meaning in some of my own difficulties. I wish you all the best for the next scan and that your courage remains strong.

  5. Theresa
    May 31, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    Thinking of you and hope May has been bearable, and June brings many sweet moments for you and Hannah and your whanau.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

