Home > Cancer Update > Radiation 9/25

Radiation 9/25

Last week I began the week as I do any other.

Monday was the 4th fraction of radiotherapy, and Tuesday was the 5th, but as these two days progressed, so too did an unnatural sense of fatigue that began to overwhelmingly take over my body. This culminated in a Tuesday where the exhaustion was no longer able to be ignored. I came home from work on Tuesday night a wreck, falling asleep at the wheel as I was driving myself home from work, and collapsed into a heap, sleeping for most of the next 24 hours. Wednesday was subsequently a day off, so too was Thursday and Friday. I was just too tired.

Meanwhile the radiotherapy treatment continued, 20 minutes out of each day, every day.

On Friday I was supposed to go to Melbourne for the weekend with Hannah. Hannah has a paediatric conference over there at the moment, and the plan was for me to join her for the weekend before it launched into a full schedule. However, on Friday after the radiotherapy, all packed and ready to go straight from the hospital to airport, we had to make a last minute call that I didn’t go. I realised just how miserable I was feeling, and how miserable my weekend in Melbourne would have to be. I drove home with my packed bags, and Hannah drove on with hers to the airport.

I was gutted. Hannah and I had been looking forward to this weekend for a while.

But more than this lost weekend, it raised the question of something bigger… how am I going to continue to work.

After a lot of introspection over a number of days, I have decided to take a leave of absence from work for 5 weeks. I decided, whilst I’m sure I probably could work if I really pressed myself, it wouldn’t be good for me working myself to exhaustion everyday. I have spoken with the RMO unit to arrange the leave, and it will likely be that a chunk of of it will have to be unpaid leave.

So, I now have 5 weeks of freedom to do with what I like, except for the mandatory 20 minutes each day at the hospital receiving treatment, and the increasingly mandatory time I require for extra naps and sleep time at varying times during the day.

I try to think of this a necessary season in my life, one that will hopefully end with the return of a reassuring routine at the end. In the mean time I will keep continuing with the treatment for another 16 fractions and hope that there will be some response.

Until next time…

Categories: Cancer Update Tags: ,
  1. Maree
    August 27, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    Hi Jared,

    I’m sorry to hear about your struggle with the side-effects of your treatment, this must be tough for you guys to deal with. I pray your energy levels will improve and your pain will ease soon. Our home-group are continuing to pray for you also. Love to you and Hannah, Mx

  2. Brigitte Murdoch
    August 27, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    Thinking of you as always. Hang in there Jared. We don’t have a choice in the treatments we have. We just have to do as we are told. As a friend said to me the other day, after the rain, there will be sunshine.
    Love and hugs, Brigitte and Neil Murdoch

  3. Ctz
    August 29, 2013 at 4:09 am

    Praying for healing & rest. Please keep us posted.
    Carol/Vancouver

  4. Dyana Parore-Connell
    August 29, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    Sorry to hear about your set/back/struggle with your treatment. Hang on Jared, through this next journey. You are such a positive person And a fighter. Thinking of you and Hannah. God bless

  5. Rochelle
    September 2, 2013 at 1:18 am

    Hi Jared,
    We miss having you around at work but you looked so tired last time I saw you that I am sure you have made the right decision. It will be worth it and we will look forward to seeing you in a few weeks time. Be kind to yourself. Big Hugs. Rochelle.

  6. Gianyce
    September 22, 2013 at 3:02 am

    I just found u and this might hbe a bit weird, but I understand how you feel… well, I don’t but my sister does, she is going through that stage of cancer treatment right now as well, so I ope for the best for u Jared! Keep fighting.
    From this random stranger that popped outta nowhere,
    Gianyce

  7. Debbie
    September 24, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    Hi Jared
    For over 2 years I have Googled Boredom Blog every few months to read about your journey. You write in such an engaging and captivating way – and I LOVE your photos! Your story brings unspeakable inspiration. First heard you speak at Mt Albert Baptist probably in 2011 then saw you on TV. Amazed and awed by your hard core faith and your ‘big picture’ perspective. Keep trusting in His purposes Jared. Right now, may He bring you much comfort, peace, relief and joy in the lows of your valley. May you be filled with unexplained hope and contentment. Your wee baby sure has a Dad to be immensely proud of. What a legacy of faith you are building as you battle on. You shine!
    Bless you and your wife and your wee one
    Debbie, Hamilton

  8. Jude Murdoch
    October 6, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    Jared. I too have followed your struggles. I can only echo what Debbie said as to the incredible person that you are; and pray for strength and peace for you and your family.
    Rich blessings,
    Jude, Wellington

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

