Home > Blog, Cancer Update > FOLFOX + Avastin 1.0

FOLFOX + Avastin 1.0

As I settle into the aftermath of the whirlwind of generosity expressed a few weeks ago, I still am at a loss to express my gratitude at both the number of people who donated and the amount that was given. It has facilitated the next step in my treatment, which has paradoxically left me feeling pretty miserable in amongst a real sense that other people, both those we know and don’t, are journeying with us and supporting us.

I always remembered my treatment from the first line therapy with oxaliplatin 5 years ago with disdain. It is a chemotherapy agent that takes sometime to recover from and I am still feeling the effects of it now one week on. On the day of the infusion, I actually felt really good. There was a sense that maybe this treatment wasn’t as bad as I remember it. On the second day I got hit with hiccups. A benign common occurrence can become a tormentor when you endure 8 hours of unrelenting hiccuping. You cannot sleep, your muscles and chest become sore, and you just exhaust yourself. Hiccups are largely a manifestation of nausea, and can result from irritation from the diaphragm as well. These hiccups won’t succumb to any remedy that I know of, and I have tried a lot, you just have to wait them out. When finally they relented, I was able to sleep.

My sleep was then interrupted by what seems to be the next of the side effects, this time from Avastin. Supposedly it can cause tumour pain, although I’m not entirely clear on the mechanism, and this was what would wake me at three in the morning. Fortunately it was able to be relieved with some potent pain relief, but the paroxysms did persist for a few days.

Finally, the biggest of the side effects I have had to battle with over the past week has been extreme fatigue. Its a sense where no matter how much sleep you get, you just don’t feel refreshed. This has been what has stopped me from getting back to work on Monday as I had planned, but hopefully tomorrow, two days later, I will be able to do so.

So all in all it has been a rough 7 days. I guess it was to be expected but that doesn’t make living through it any more pleasant. Fortunately I move on to the well phase now between cycles and resume normality as much as I can. I suspect the next few weeks of life will involve some significant decisions on my behalf with regards to work and planning exactly how Hannah and I want the next few months of our lives to play out.

Until next time…

  1. lauren
    November 5, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    you are amazing jared.

  2. November 5, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Good luck.

  3. Janice Roseingrave
    November 5, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Good luck to you all!

  4. Renelle Gronert
    November 5, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Blessings. Live every day like is the last, as we all should!!!

  5. November 5, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    Keep Positive,thoughts to you and your family

  6. November 5, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    I hope the treatment gets more tolerable and is effective at keeping things at bay. Your strength of character is awesome. Enjoy your days of normality! 🙂

  7. Lois
    November 6, 2013 at 12:37 am

    May you find peace like a river.

  8. Jo
    November 6, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    Have been thinking of you and wondering how it was all going. All the best that the next few weeks are better!

  9. Maree
    November 6, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    HI Jared,

    Was wondering how you were doing thanks for the post. Sorry to hear about the side-effects 😦 that sucks. I pray this will settle down and you will find relief from the side effects, I pray also that the treatment will be effective. We are praying for you at home-group xx M

  10. Joel
    November 6, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    Just in case you get hiccups next time and didn’t try chlorpromazine it may be worth considering. 25-50mg up to QID.

    I really hope you get to meet your baby girl. I recently became a father and it’s just amazing.

  11. Aaron
    November 7, 2013 at 12:45 am

    Jared,

    Your blog is amazing. I first read of your story a couple of weeks ago on Stuff and have been getting your background stories on your blog.

    You have a terrific eye for photography as well (an excellent time out mechanism I think).

    We are all thinking of you both and looking forward to seeing your daughter when she arrives 🙂

  12. Claire
    November 7, 2013 at 9:39 am

    Thanks for your detailed update, Jared. Much appreciated. We continue to think of you and pray for you and your family.

  13. Dyana Parore-Connell
    November 7, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    You are amazing Jared. Thanks for your update. and hope you have some form of normality between treatments. Thinking of you. Take care. God bless

  14. Toni King
    November 9, 2013 at 12:03 am

    You must be an incredibly strong person, you have been through more than anyone should and you are still fighting. Most people take life for granted, myself inluded. I’m sorry you have suffered all of this, be strong and we all look forward to seeing your beautiful baby – no one more than you.

  15. Karen
    November 18, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Because of your story I have booked in an appointment today with our GP , I have had quite a few symptoms and have tried to kid myself that nothing is wrong. You are truly amazing , and have made me realise I can’t put it off any longer so thank you!

    • Jared
      November 18, 2013 at 5:28 pm

      Hi Karen, I’m glad to hear it has prompted you to get checked. I hope that it turns out that nothing is wrong, I wouldn’t wish the journey I have had on anyone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

