Home > Blog, Cancer Update > FOLFOX + Avastin 2, 3 and 4.0

FOLFOX + Avastin 2, 3 and 4.0

I made the decision during round 2 of this chemo to wait until I was well before writing a blog update about it. The reason being is that I was likely to be in a better frame of mind, and I didn’t want to come across as being too tragic about the side effects. Of course, as I got well, I started to get busy with other things and round 3 descended upon me, followed by round 4.

So as I ascend out of the cloud of chemotherapy from my fourth round I figured an update was due.

Round 2 and 3 were equally as tough as round 1, with the noticeable absence of hiccuping, which was a relief. There is no doubt that this regime takes a tougher toll on my body than previous regimes. The nausea lasts longer and the fatigue equally so. The well time, as intimated in my previous post about my decision to stop working, has dramatically decreased between rounds. Hannah and I therefore make the most of this time and we have filled it well. Almost to the point of being even more tired during my well time because we have being doing too much.

This most recent round however is fraught with irony. I have actually recovered quite well from it with very little effort on my part, consisting of less nausea, and less fatigue. The irony is, for the first time in 78 rounds total of chemotherapy, I have had an ulcerative mucositis that has plagued me over the last few days. Each round previously has always involved a mild mucositis, and I don’t know whether it’s the new combination of drugs cumulating their toxicity, or whether an unknown factor has led to this, but I have been in an extraordinary amount of pain. Oral mucositis is where the mucosal lining of your mouth gets inflamed, the ulcerative part is where the inflammation reaches a point where that epithelial layer of cells die off exposing the submucosa and potentially tissue layers beneath that. We have all had mouth ulcers in the past I am sure, and on this occasion, I have had multiple LARGE ulcers all through out my mouth. Eating is like chewing razor blades and then bathing it hydrochloric acid. The result has been resorting to puree type meals and the use of Xylocaine viscous, a topical anaesthetic agent to numb it all. So far I am about 3 days into this episode, and I am hoping that they will be on the improve soon. I have a wedding on Saturday, shortly followed by Christmas, and it would be a pity for my palate to endure tasty food and pain at the same time.

In other semi-related news, Hannah is now 35 weeks pregnant today, which means any time from now is pretty much fair game, although January will be nice, and not when I’m on chemotherapy. Things have been progressing well, and the nursery is all set, it just needs a baby to make it complete.

Until next time…

  1. Gail Benkesser
    December 18, 2013 at 1:15 am

    Hi Jarod. I just had to share what worked for my husbands mouth ulcers when he was on the same regime as you. They were so bad he couldn’t eat as well and was in great pain. The only thing that cleared them up in a matter of days was Nilstat drops from the chemist. Not sure if you have tried this but it cleared his up really quickly. Hope it’s of some help. Sending cyber hugs and prayers your way as you await the birth of your precious daughter.
    Gail.

  2. Ctz
    December 18, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    So great to get an update. Thinking of your family & getting excited for the arrival of your baby spirit! Carol/Vancouver, Canada

  3. Claire Donald
    December 18, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    thanks for the update, Jared. We were just talking about you at dinner tonight and realised that January and your baby girl’s birth is now only 1 mnth away. We all send you our warmest wishes for the most wonderful Christmas with your family, celebrating our Saviour’s birth – the most precious Gift – of His enduring peace, joy and hope. Claire

  4. Dyana Parore-Connell
    December 19, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    Thanks for update Jared. Hope you have a good Xmas and are able to eat. Thinking of you and Hannah.. God bless

  5. December 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Hi Jaren, just a random guy. Read your post and think your outlook in life is so inspirational. I don’t know you but I really thank you for sharing your positive outlook and determination. I really really wish for you and your family the best.

  6. Deb
    December 20, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Hi Jarod, I heard you speak at Church Unlimited quite some time ago. My daughter and I were just talking about you yesterday wondering how you were getting along and then I saw your post. Best wishes for a happy Christmas, I hope you can eat some Christmas food. Looking forward to hearing about your baby soon. Thinking and praying for you.
    Deb

  7. Maree
    December 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Hi Jared and Hannah,
    Thank you for the update – so sorry to hear about your mouth ulcers but I do pray this will heal up quickly so you can enjoy Christmas. I pray you will have a great Christmas and look forward to seeing a pic of the new addition to your family in the New Year. Thinking of you all, much love, Maree xxx

  8. DEBBI TODD
    December 24, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    Hope that Audi is getting a good run !! Merry Christmas to you both, looking forward to hearing news of the new angel due soon.

  9. January 1, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Hello from Timaru and TPP.
    Xylocaine viscous is great stuff – not sure how good anti fungals are for ulcers – chlorhexidine might be useful but would probably be painful without the xylocaine.
    Hang in there mate – we’re praying for you both
    Neil and Isobel

    • Jared
      January 1, 2014 at 8:43 am

      Thanks. Antifungals are only useful if you suspect the ulcers are related to oral thrush, and will certainly help the recovery. Mine as it turns out, are likely to be related to neutropenia as I’ve been quite neutropenic over the past few weeks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

