Home > Blog, Interviews and Talks > Bowel Cancer Awareness Month

Bowel Cancer Awareness Month

BBC_logo_smallLife can be interesting in how it provides opportunities that you may not have foreseen in your life when you were younger. Throughout medical school and before, I would never have envisaged that I would be playing the role of raising awareness about bowel cancer. Cancer in general was that disease that I treat, and the thing that ‘other’ people had to deal with. Being diagnosed at the age of 27 was a paradigm shift, a disease concept was all of a sudden a very real part of my life, one that I have had to live with ever since.

I have been an ambassador for Beat Bowel Cancer for three years now. Their goal as an organisation is to raise awareness of an unglamorous disease that is often underplayed and not widely known about. They are also advocates for bowel cancer related screening and treatment. An interesting point which for me validates the effort of this organisation is that when someone famous is diagnosed with breast or prostate cancer, we all know about it, but when it is bowel cancer, the media often just report it as ‘cancer’, a term that is nebulous and unhelpful. To me it typifies the aversion that we seem to have in talking about this particular disease. When you hear that bowel cancer kills more people than prostate and breast cancer combined, you realise the imbalance in our understanding of this. Hence, as an ambassador, I see it as my responsibility (given my diagnosis) to do what I can, while I can, in the hopes that it will save lives. As with any cancer, the earlier you catch it, the higher the likelihood of successful treatment. If we can raise awareness, implement a screening program, and have treatment options that are comparable to the rest of the developed world (don’t get me started on the availability of Avastin… ), we can make some serious headway into the mortality of this disease.

Last week, as part of the campaign to raise awareness, I was invited to be interviewed on Good Morning.

You can watch it by clicking here.

It should be noted that due to the way TVNZ on demand works, this link will only be available for another 13 days!! So it won’t be available come July. 😦

Until next time…

Categories: Blog, Interviews and Talks
  1. natalie
    June 17, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    So pleased to still be getting updates from you Jared! Praying that you will be around to send many more. Great talk on Good Morning too and increasing the awareness of bowel cancer.

  2. June 17, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    Hi Jared,
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while like lots and lots of others, most of us content to hide in the online shadows but I wanted to you to know how inspiring you are. The road that you have to walk is as hard as it gets but it is clear that you are surrounded by love and in the end, that’s the only thing that matters. Stay well.
    Donna

  3. June 18, 2014 at 12:51 am

    I’ve been following your blog since I saw your article in the Herald during the initial fundraising campaign, and saw you on Good Morning the other day. I think what you’re doing – in raising awareness about bowel cancer, and in general – is amazing. I knew that bowel cancer was in my family history, but you have completely prompted me to act now. I’m 32 and haven’t had any symptoms yet but am starting the screening process now so that I’m on top of it should anything change. I’m sure there are many others out there that are like me and have done the same, because of you. Thank you for doing this for us when you have your own battle to fight.

  4. Dyana Parore-Connell
    June 18, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    Thankyou for another update re Bowel awareness. Good morning “chat ” very good. Take care. God blesss

  5. Theresa
    June 19, 2014 at 12:02 am

    Couldn’t watch this from australia but so happy to hear from you and your Oh Baby piece was beautiful. Praying for you all still.

  6. Maree
    June 19, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    Hi Jared and Hannah, thank you so much for your update – really awesome work you are doing for the bowel cancer awareness program! You are such an inspiration for us all and we value you. We are continuing to support you in prayer at home-group, much love Mxx

  7. Donna
    June 27, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    Hi Jared, I watched you on good morning and what you said resonated with me, in fact while you were still talking on TV I was on the phone to my Dr booking in an appointment. As it transpires you have literally saved my life. I wanted to thank you so much and I’m so grateful for your appearance on the show, I can’t even think what might have happened if I hadn’t been watching you that morning. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

