Home > Blog, Cancer Update > Oncology 23.0

Oncology 23.0

Last week I had my 25th CT scan and it was good news.

I haven’t had eyes on the scan yet myself, but basically it looks the same as the previous scan I had back in February. This means that the disease is stable, which is about the best we can hope for with Avastin, and it means the Avastin is working. So far I have had 89 rounds of chemotherapy total, 15 of which include Avastin, meaning I have spent close to $90,000 on my chemotherapy over the past 6 months.

The advice, since the Avastin is working, is that I should continue with it. It really begins to put into perspective what the impact of last years fundraising effort has had. At the time 60k seemed like a huge target that couldn’t be reached. As time has progressed, it has proved to be only the tip of the iceberg, and the money raised has enabled me to continue for a lot longer. At some point however, we will reach a point when the money runs out, and we will be left with the decision over whether to continue with treatment (in a debt based way), or to stop and let nature take it’s course. As regular readers of the this blog know, I’ve long since accepted the final outcome, so its not too much of a stretch for me to let nature take its course rather than to bankrupt family and friends with the ongoing ridiculous costs of my treatment, but that is a bridge we will cross when we get to it.

In other semi-related news, it would seem that I have developed a gastric ulcer over the past week, which means I missed my most recent scheduled round of chemotherapy. 5-FU is an agent that gives me mucositis along the entire length of the gastrointestinal tract, so the stomach not withstanding, has subsequently ulcerated. Avastin can also impair healing as well, so its likely the combo of the two has led to mucosal erosion and then impaired healing. I have since started on high dose Omeprazole (a Proton Pump Inhibitor) to help reduce the acidity of my stomach and therefore help with it’s healing. The last week has involved persistent nausea, epigastric pain and multiple episodes of vomiting at all hours of the day, so it has been a bit of a miserable time. I am scheduled for a gastroscopy this coming Wednesday to get a firmer diagnosis and to rule out other possibilities for my symptoms in the context metastatic disease.

Oh the joys of cancer… 🙂

Until next time…

Categories: Blog, Cancer Update
  1. Nicole
    June 28, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    Jared, your ability to always think of other’s (your family’s) needs above and before yourself is incredible, especially so, given what hinges on the outcome of some of the big decisions that could be ahead. May Christ continue to shine so brightly in your life as He is so magnificently now. Your courage is a huge encouragement to us all who follow your blog. Love to you and your amazing wife Hannah and wee girl 🙂

  2. Jan
    June 28, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    Though I do not know you personally, I think of you often. x

  3. Tex
    June 29, 2014 at 7:37 am

    Jared, your blog is inspirational, informative and humbling. Thank you for continuing to share your story, your openness and willingness to raise the profile of bowel cancer. Keep up the great work, God bless & as we say in Texas… Happy Trails!

  4. Greg
    June 29, 2014 at 10:14 am

    Please keep smiling you are truly a wonderful man. Husband and much adored father. Hang in there.

  5. Dyana Parore-Connell
    June 29, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Once again thanks for your informative update. My thoughts are with you and Hannah. Hang in there. God Bless

  6. Lucy Hazelwood
    June 29, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    You are a an amazing man, and so inspiring. Thank you

  7. June 30, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Hope all goes well on Wednesday.

  8. natalie
    July 6, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    if you could create another give a little page myself and im sure many others would still love to continue donating so u can stay as long as possible with your family and see your daughter growing

  9. Dee Karena
    July 11, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    WOW… avastin does work and for that we count our blessings. This gastric ulcer is just a little hurdle for now amongst the big picture which is spending time with your gorgeous little girl and beautiful wife. Surprise me one day by ranting. I’m sure that would put a smile on my face to know you can express yourself in that way. It’s all positive energy. Whatever you’re doing Jared, keep doing it. *thumbs up*

  10. PK
    July 14, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    I am glad to hear of your good news about Avastin but sorry to hear of the gastric ulcer.
    I hope you the symptoms of your ulcer have improved and that life is good for you atm.

    Sending best wishes your and your families way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

