Home > Uncategorized > Post Script

Post Script

Jared passed away this morning, peacefully, at home, surrounded by love. This final blog post was written on 25 September when it was clear to Jared and all close to him that his time was nearing an end. To those who have followed this blog from the beginning or picked up along the way – thank you for journeying with Jared, for your camaraderie and encouragement. Sharing this journey gave Jared more purpose and fulfilment than can be expressed in words. We are so proud of him in every way and grateful for the immense love he brought to our lives. We will miss him always. Hannah and Elise.

From Jared

On Wednesday 8th October 2014, I passed away at 1125 hours.

The time leading up to my death was mixed with days of feeling well and days of feeling pretty terrible. I am thankful that we only have to go through this process once in our life. I would have liked to have written more leading up to my death but the reality was that the medication and my state of mind made it impossible to write coherent statements and turn them into phrases and paragraphs.

One of the things that has happened since I became palliative was I received an offer of someone to write my book for me. David Williams was a friend of a friend, he approached me while I was in the hospice and was very enthusiastic about the process. I spent one hour a day for the better part of three weeks being interviewed, telling my story, in such that I hope my words are not lost. David is an author, previously a reporter, a PhD graduate who embraced this opportunity and I am forever grateful to him for doing so. During this time we traced the highs and lows of life but in particular the last 5.5 years of my diagnosis and, building on my blog, he is preparing to publish a book. This has been the focus of a lot of my energy in my final days. My hope is that this book will be an accurate representation for Elise to understand the life that her father has lived, and, secondarily, for those who may or may not be interested, exploring the highs and lows that someone might go through when diagnosed with cancer and navigating the subsequent journey. Those who read this blog may also find this interesting and Hannah will update the blog to advise when it will be published and how you can obtain a copy.

The second challenge of palliation has been balancing time with others and time with ourselves. As we have had a large number of requests for people to visit and spend time with us, this had to be weighed up against the limited strength and energy that I have had available to offer people, as well as the time that I needed to spend with Hannah and Elise. It was amazing to see the day to day fluctuation of my energies; some days I have felt rather well while others have been extremely low in energy. Those final days were progressively spent with family and close friends until family alone was the priority and all I had energy left for. The final stretches of palliation were characterised by massive amounts of fatigue where I did not even have energy for those who were closest to me. I routinely got to the point where I wished my time was up and wondered why my body was still alive when it felt like it didn’t have the energy to do that well. Why it bothered to hold on for longer than I would have liked is a question I do not have an answer for. The augmentation and palliation of drugs was critical at keeping me going and preserving my sanity.

For those who have followed this journey I thank you for keeping me company and offering encouragement when you did. I appreciated your support, although I probably did not express that appreciation enough. It was nice to know that people valued the words I had to say. My time now has come to an end and apart from occasional updates regarding the book etc. nothing further will be written. I hope God has blessed you through joining me on my travels.

God bless, for the final time. I am checking out.

Jared

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. sarah
    October 8, 2014 at 9:24 pm

    hannah and elise, sending you love for the physical loss of your husband and father. may be live inside you forever. xx

  2. natalie
    October 8, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    Rest in peace Jared. Thank you for sharing your story – you have been an inspiration to so many. Praying that Hannah will know God’s comfort in this tough time

  3. Jan
    October 8, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    Thank you for sharing your journey, and though now you have gone, i hope where ever you are there is a big hug, and a big piece of chocolate cake. My thoughts are with Hannah and Elise, Fly free my friend xx

  4. Mrs. M
    October 8, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    While I knew this was coming, I still cried when I heard the news today. While we never got to meet face-to-face, I always loved our Twitter conversations Jared, whether they were about our lovely kids or about that spectre of cancer that haunted our lives. I’m going to miss that a lot. I hugged CJ extra-tight this afternoon, thinking about how life has changed forever for your beautiful family, knowing how much they will miss your shining light. The only consolation, my friend, is that I know that you are at peace with our heavenly father and one of the brightest stars in that divine gallery.

  5. October 8, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Travel safe my friend I for one have enjoyed travelling some of the way thus far with you

  6. October 8, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    Taken way too soon. RIP Jared x

  7. Naidene
    October 8, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    So saddened, what a remarkable guy. To family, I hope you can find some comfort in the way he touched many lives through his story, take hold of your beautiful memories shared to get through each hour, then each day. Hold strong and live your lives as he would have wanted.

  8. Phillip
    October 8, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    Farewell jared, travel safe into your new home

  9. Catrina Bregmen
    October 8, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    Oh my heart breaks for Hannah, Elise & the Noel family. Jared & I attended intermediate school together & I had the pleasure of him being a part of my surgical team to remove my cancer last January. I knew it was coming after speaking with Nigel Cottle at church one Sunday a couple of weeks ago…
    Fly free from your pain Jared. Party hard with Jesus… You deserve it. My prayers & heart is with you all at this time ❤️🙏

  10. Kate Blackmore
    October 8, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss Hannah and Elise, he was an amazing man and I, among I am sure many have been inspired and hopeful reading his words and watching his journey although from afar. I have no doubt that this has been without any true understanding of what you have all been through and Although no consolation, it has given me as (a wife of someone going through this terrible disease) the hope and a desire to be positive and thankful for the small steps we take each day

    All my love to you both, Kate Melville

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  11. Claire
    October 8, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    From another “friend” who only knows you through this blog…. the full moon shines so brightly on this sad night. So many tears and thoughts and prayers for you all, as one epic journey changes form to another. We are with you in the days, weeks and months ahead – changed forever by Jared’s and your story. God bless you.

  12. Kylee
    October 8, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    I never met you but followed your blog with much interest and hope. Rest easy. My thoughts are with Elise and Hannah xx

  13. Bev M
    October 8, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    Jared, I have cried this evening, on hearing the news that you have gone. I have never met you. But what you shared thru your blog really moved me and I was deeply inspired by you and your real faith. My love goes out to your beautiful family. As for you, I imagine you are receiving a brilliant, shining crown, for a life so well lived. I am so pleased for you, and proud of you.

  14. Jane
    October 8, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    Thank you for so willingly sharing your cancer journey with us and now (huge sad sigh here) that journey is over. By now you will have heard “well done, good and faithful one” and you will be pain free. To Hannah and Elise and extended family thank you for sharing your loved one with us. May you know HIS love and peace at this sad sad time. Please accept my sympathy.

  15. Sherry
    October 8, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    Fly high with our heavenly father Jared. After coming across your blog 5 years ago today is simply heartbreaking. May God hold Hannah and Elise in his arms and bring peace and comfort to them xx

  16. October 8, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    Wow, I am lost for words. What a strong man that Jared was! Thinking of you Hannah and Elise during this extremely sad time. Thoughts and prayers are with you. God bless.

  17. Lucy Hazelwood
    October 8, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    What a tremendous blessing your brave and honest journey has been to me, I have drawn strength from your words Jared, as I also battle the beast that is cancer.
    May God bless you Hannah and Elise, and thank you for sharing your lives also, I share your sorrow at the loss of your husband, father and loved friend and pray you will find peace and comfort in the days ahead.

  18. Kara I
    October 8, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    Today earth lost an amazing man too soon but heaven gained one. Hannah, you and Elise are in my thoughts and prayers.

  19. Coventry family
    October 8, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    Rest in peace Jared. You and your family have been an inspiration, thinking of your family at this time. May the draw strength from your love and your words. The world has lost a good person, with a very kind heart. Please accept our families sympathy.

  20. October 8, 2014 at 10:20 pm

    I am so sorry to hear this. Hannah and Elise, my thoughts are with you both.

  21. Suzana
    October 8, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    I never met you ,but you have deeply touched my heart with your story. Rest in peace and travel safe, my heart goes out to your family.

  22. October 8, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    Lots of love to you Hannah, and to Elise. You are in our thoughts. Thank you for sharing him with us. x

  23. Jo
    October 8, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    Rest in peace Jared and much love to Hannah and Elise at this heartbreaking time. Lots of love Jo xx

  24. Rach
    October 8, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    All my love to you Hannah and Elise , may you find comfort in knowing there is so much love x

  25. Megan
    October 8, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    So very sorry to read this news. I was greatly encouraged by Jareds’ sharing at Parachute 2011 after having lost my best friend to cancer and continued to keep up with his status through his blog. When I received an Ice challenge this year I made a donation to Jared instead so he could continue with his medication and spend more time with his daughter. Thank you Jared for sharing your journey with us.

  26. Sally gearing
    October 8, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Goodnight Jared May you finally have peace…I had a strange feeling u might have left this world last night when for some reason I found my iPad open on your page without even doing anything crazy I know
    My love goes to Hannah and Elise
    Love me

  27. Janice Roseingrave
    October 8, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    Thank you for sharing this journey that Jared was on, with the rest of us. My sincere sympathy to Hannah, Elise and Jared’s family at this very sad time. My thoughts are with you all. Jared’s very long battle is over and now may he rest in peace.

  28. October 8, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    Thank you for sharing this part of the journey with us. My prayers have been with you over the last week as Jared has been on my mind. Much love to Hannah and Elise at this sad time. May God’s peace and comfort surround you.

  29. annie
    October 8, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    Your humour honesty and appreciation for things that other take for granted will never be forgotten. You have been a true example of how a life should be lived even under the most dire of circumstances. Thankyou for everything you have shared. May you enjoy watching and guiding your family wherever you may be.

  30. Genelle
    October 8, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    So sad to read this news tonight, what an amazing testimony to a life lived to the fullest in spite of circumstances. Hannah I pray you and your family will feel God’s embrace and comfort. God bless you guys for sharing your story. Farewell Jared.

  31. Jacqui Fletcher
    October 8, 2014 at 11:47 pm

    I was so terribly sad to hear of your passing today Jared and my heart feels so heavy for dear Hannah and wee Elise. May they find peace in the knowledge that you are finally home with your heavenly father, free of sickness, free of pain and rejoicing in his glory. God bless you Jared. X

  32. Theresa
    October 9, 2014 at 12:09 am

    Sending my deep sympathy, thoughts and prayers from Australia, to Jared’s beloved family tonight. I’m so sad but also, so grateful, as forever Jared’s faith & courage & purpose will help me. What a mighty man. Wonderful about his book… Hannah from 1 Dunedin girl to another, may you be especially taken care of by your family & friends & the gentle Spirit of God.

  33. Robyn
    October 9, 2014 at 5:56 am

    Have followed Jared’s story for the better part of a year. So sorry to hear of his passing (saw it first on the Herald) but feel so enriched by reading his words through the last many months. I feel like a friend has passed. Love from Minnesota, USA.

  34. Catherine
    October 9, 2014 at 6:45 am

    I pray that you will feel at peace Hannah. I have only gotten to know a little about you through this blog and you seem to be an amazingly strong woman. My heart breaks for you but it is so wonderful that you have your precious daughter who Jared will continue to watch over with you

  35. Carla
    October 9, 2014 at 7:10 am

    i have such a heavy heart reading this today. My thoughts are with Hannah and their families. Jareds story captured me from the beginning and he is a true insipiration to me. He will be missed but always remembered for the positive impact on my life. RIP Jared

  36. Sarah B
    October 9, 2014 at 7:33 am

    Thank you for opening your heart to New Zealanders and people all over the world who read your blog. It’s certainly been a journey. I was so happy that you got to meet your wonderful daughter and through her you will live on. Rest in peace.

  37. dennize. utupo
    October 9, 2014 at 7:42 am

    Its so sad to read this, but anyway rest in peace Jared and much aloha to your family 🙂

  38. Jacqui Cleary
    October 9, 2014 at 8:07 am

    Thank you for sharing your story and your journey Jared. Rest now in the loving arms of Jesus. Love and thoughts are with Hannah and Elise.

  39. Kim Longley
    October 9, 2014 at 9:04 am

    God bless you and your family your husband was an inspiration xx

    >

  40. Dee Karena
    October 9, 2014 at 9:48 am

    My condolences and deepest sympathy to Hannah, Elise and both your families. Thank you for sharing your lives with us on this journey and may God give you comfort and strength for the future. Big aroha to you Hannah. *hug*

  41. Mone
    October 9, 2014 at 9:53 am

    Rest in love. We will see you soon Jared. God bless you. John 14:3 “I am going away to prepare a place for you”

  42. Gary & Althea Harris
    October 9, 2014 at 10:16 am

    To Hannah & Elise

    Our sincere condolences on your sad loss. Our prayers and thoughts are with you all.

    Even though we have been expecting this outcome with Jared’s journey it is still a very sad moment when it happened. We both feel very privileged to have shared Jared’s journey and he will always live in our memories and both of you will remain in our prayers. Our own future journeys will seem a bit less of a struggle if we have any illnesses now that we have seen the strength and determination that Jared shared with us. He has truly been a real blessing from God to us all. May he live in your heart always and may his beautiful daughter Elise know in the future how much Jared loved his special gift. We look forward to reading his book.

    May God surround you with his love and give you the strength to carry on with the life He now has planned for you.

    Kind Regards

    Gary & Althea

  43. Evie
    October 9, 2014 at 10:39 am

    Hannah, Jared had already ‘beaten the odds’ when I met him years ago. He has redefined beating the odds. I look forward to purchasing a copy of the book. Lots of love to you and your beautiful daughter, to those people who created and raised Jared and to everyone who knew him and loved him. He aha te mea nui o te Ao? He tangata, he tangata, he tangata.

  44. October 9, 2014 at 10:51 am

    My thoughts and prayers go out to Hannah, Elise and family. I never knew Jared personally but stumbled across his blog some time ago. My heart has always ached for the path you were all walking. May you be comforted by the good memories you have of a wonderful Husband and Dad. He was such a strong and loving Man who has left an amazing story not only for those he loved but for strangers who also may be facing the same battles. Much love and respect xx

  45. Lisa
    October 9, 2014 at 10:57 am

    What an amazing man jarred was and to his equally amazing family and friends god bless, stay strong and enjoy the many amazing memories you all share of jarred

  46. Michael
    October 9, 2014 at 11:14 am

    God Bless you Hannah and Elise…thank you for allowing Jared’s time and writing to make me a better person

  47. October 9, 2014 at 11:21 am

    I am and have been deeply moved by Jared’s whole journey, his eloquent dialogue and emmense strength of character was clear throughout his writing. Sharing the highs and lows, the bittersweet-ness of his situation and the emmense challenges he faced was at times both hard to read and ultimately a lesson in finding the joy in every single moment of this life, no matter what it throws at you.
    Thanks for sharing Jared and to Hannah, Elise and all his family and loved ones my heart goes out to you at this time.

  48. October 9, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    You will be missed by more than you could even imagine, my love goes out to your beautiful family that I feel like I know through your blog.. You have touched my heart and life and made me thankful for every day. Life is a gift, as were you xxx thank you for sharing your life and thank you to Hannah and Elise for sharing your beautiful Jared with us xx

  49. Carolyn
    October 9, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    If a man’s worth was judged by the number of tears that fall on hearing the news of his passing…Jared was a wealthy man. I am so sorry for your loss Hannah and Elise.

  50. Robyn Sewter
    October 9, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    I was so encouraged and challenged by Jared’s blog. His last one brought me to tears. I loved his honesty and realness. What a great faith he had – now ‘promoted to glory’ with his Saviour where there is no more pain, sorrow or sadness. Condolences to his precious wife and daughter and the extended family on losing such a giant of a man.

  51. Dyana Parore-Connell
    October 9, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    My condolences to you you Hannah, Elise and families. Thankyou for sharing Jareds journey with us. Now he is a peace. Good idea about the book, something Elise will treasure. God bless

  52. Maggie
    October 9, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    Your an inspiration, sleep well x

  53. Dirk
    October 9, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    I pray for you, Hannah & Elise and it was a great privilege to share the last 5 years with you two… I met with Jared and shared a cuppy twice together with our good friends Mike and Al and it was just fantastic to see his courage and even humour in the situation. God bless you and keep you and make His face shine upon you and Elise and give you His peace…

  54. Rochelle
    October 9, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    So sad to hear the news. An amazing man who touched so many, not least of all by his wonderful words of wisdom, hope and love shared through this blog. God Bless you all.

  55. Greg Rawlinson
    October 9, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    Please accept my deepest sympathy at the loss of Jared he touched so many ways. We were truly blessed to follow him on his journey. Thank you

  56. October 9, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    My sincerest sympathies, a huge loss

  57. Neenie
    October 9, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    thank you for sharing your journey so willingly with others. We have been only blog friends but only came to know you as we searched support for our own journey with family with bowel cancer. Your encouragement sharing your journey was a gift to me which I will always thank God for you. To Hannah & Elise our love & sympathy & memories of you Jared continue to strengthen you both the days & years ahead and may the Lord give you his peace.

  58. October 9, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    Dear Hannah & Elise, my heartfelt sympathies go out to you at this time of great loss. Love and prayers to you. May you know God’s comfort at this really sad time.

  59. October 9, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    My love & thoughts to Jared’s family. He has left you all with precious memories to be treasured forever, and his legacy lives on in you all.

  60. October 9, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    I attended the same school as Hannah and have been silently following Jareds blog and journey. Jared, you have taught me so much about life and what is really important. Hannah, you and Jared were such a fantastic team and your strength is phenomenal. Rest in peace Jared the hard work is done. Sending love to you all.

  61. Denyse
    October 9, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Rest in peace Jared and my thoughts and prayers got to your wife and wee daughter and the rest of your family, you have certainly been an inspiration to us all in sharing your journey with us which has been one big privilege, God Bless you all

  62. Anh
    October 9, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    Thank you for sharing your story. All the best to your family.

  63. Martina
    October 9, 2014 at 10:02 pm

    Rest in peace Jared and my condolences to Hannah & Elise and Family

  64. Rhonda Cole
    October 9, 2014 at 10:50 pm

    I was very touched by what I saw of Dr. Jared and his family on TV. A truly inspiring man who lived to bless others and make the world a better place. A life so well lived. Much love to his beautiful family.

  65. Melissa
    October 9, 2014 at 11:07 pm

    What a journey. Thank you for being so brave to share it with us. Have fun up there!

  66. Imoa
    October 10, 2014 at 12:15 am

    May God be praised Jared for the witness that you have kept throughout your journey and ordeal. I have just come across the news of passing on the NZ Herald, and have only just read your final entry. My heart is strengthened and my faith is renewed, with the courage and peace that has prevailed in you, even up to your final moments. If I anticipate your blog correctly, I knew David as a young man, and I can assure you that Hannah, Elise and your family that he will do an admirable job in preserving your last requests in print. My family and I will continue to uplift your family in prayer. May God’s Spirit of comfort, guide and protect them as they mourn and grieve your passing. Ia manuia lau malaga Jared! Soifua ona o Iesu!

  67. Chris
    October 10, 2014 at 5:36 am

    God has gain an angel.. Fly away into the heaven.. Rest in Peace..

  68. Sandra
    October 10, 2014 at 7:55 am

    My thoughts are with you Hannah and Elise, I’ve been away but even on holiday I was mindful that these were the final weeks for your family. I said goodbye to my husband last year, sending you much strength x

  69. Shirley Jones
    October 10, 2014 at 9:22 am

    Rest in Peace Jared, thank you for sharing your journey with us. Thank you too to Hannah and Elise for sharing some of the best and worse days of your lives with everyone. May God Bless you both as you continue your life journey together and Our Lord in Heaven walk with you ….

  70. Ben
    October 10, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    Thankyou for posting what must have been a v painful period for Jared and his family.
    What a unique individual, sad he died so young, the book will I am sure be a huge success.
    For all those who donated the funds for his extra chemo. last year, well done.
    It sounds likehe was a real credit to his profession.
    RIP

  71. Katy
    October 10, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    I went to school with Jared, and although I haven’t seen him in many years I was saddened to hear of him being so sick when Hannah was pregnant. I remember a sweet, friendly guy who was gentlemenly and polite at a time when most teenage boys were anything but. It’s great to hear that he grew up to be a great doctor and have a happy and fulfilling marriage. I’m so pleased he had those precious months with his beautiful daughter, and that she will grow up knowing her father loved her so very much.
    Rest in Peace, Jared. Much love to Hannah, Elise and all your family.

  72. Ctz
    October 11, 2014 at 3:04 am

    Well done, good and faithful servant.
    Thank you Hannah for sharing your husband with us. Jared’s blogs were so helpful to me when my mom passed away from cancer four years ago.. His spirit, love for Christ and you and your daughter, and his passion for work was inspirational. God bless, Carol/Vancouver/Canada

  73. Sue
    October 11, 2014 at 7:30 am

    RIPxx

  74. Tania and Tawhai
    October 11, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    to Hannah and Elsie <3, may the Lord Jesus be your strength and comfort at this time. My heart goes out to you both. Bless you always and forever. arohanui the rickard whanau

  75. Maree
    October 12, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    Dear Hannah and Elise, thank you for posting this message for Jared under what must be the most difficult circumstances. We are thinking of you all at this time and are praying for you. Jared was a man that Elise can be very proud to call her Daddy, she will grow up hearing all sorts of wonderful stories about him and how much he loved you guys and His God. He was such a wonderful example of a life lived for the Lord in spite of everything he was going through he fought such a long and courageous battle.
    Despite having cancer he served His Lord
    He was a wonderful husband and had a great marriage
    He not only qualified but he also worked as a Doctor for as long as he possibly could
    He became a Daddy 🙂 and was such a loving Father
    He was a loving Uncle
    He was an awesome friend
    He was a great Doctor and colleague
    He was a great ambadassador for cancer awareness
    He gave of himself in the hardest of times when he lacked energy even when he was down
    He had a ministry that reached so many for Christ
    And so, so, much more….
    Now in glory with the Lord He loved.

    Thank you Jared for sharing your journey so bravely with us, we are better people because of you. I’m sure you have heard the words “well done my good and faithful servant”. See you again in Heaven, till next time…. love you lots, big hug, Maree xx

  76. October 12, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    From someone who never knew Jared in person, but was impacted by a life well lived. In his attitude and his actions, in his character and his faith he has left a beautiful legacy. He has glorified His Father in Heaven, inspired us to live greater and better. To his family – words can’t express how hard it must be for you. I pray that the grace of God continues to cover and embrace you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

