Home > Uncategorized > Jared’s Farewell

Jared’s Farewell

Jared’s funeral will be held on Monday 13th October at 2pm at the Westgate Baptist Church, 67 Hobsonville Road, West Harbour, followed by afternoon tea.

For those unable to attend, we will be live-streaming the service via the following link which will also allow people to view the service for up to 30 days.

https://new.livestream.com/accounts/8362941/events/3476221

We are so grateful for the outpouring of love and support and the many heartfelt tributes to Jared that have been written in the past couple of days.

Kind regards

Hannah, Elise and family

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Catrina Bregmen
    October 10, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    Thank you Hannah, Elise & the Noel family for sharing this with us. My heartfelt prayers are with you at this time. I will be at his final farewell.

  2. October 10, 2014 at 11:48 pm

    Hannah, to you and wee Elise and the rest of the family, your mother, father and siblings, our condolences and best wishes from the Mathieson family.
    Stuart, Gemma, Lucy and Holly.
    Dunedin.

  3. Neil McKinnon
    October 11, 2014 at 6:44 am

    Thank you Hannah and Elise – it has been a privilege to know your family, albeit from afar – we’ll be thinking of you on Monday – Love and Blessings, Neil and Isobel

  4. Nicole
    October 11, 2014 at 7:43 am

    Dear Hannah,

    Thank you SO much for letting us all know about Jared’s funeral. Even though I’ve never met you or Jared I’d so love to be there with you on Monday and I have considered flying up but unfortunately I have something on Monday that I need to be at. Instead, is there an address I could send something to you and Elise?

    I will miss Jared and his blog so much. His faith in Jesus encouraged so many of us, God used him in so many wonderful ways. I am so grateful to have been told about his blog a couple of years ago and to have followed him for the short time that I did.

    You and Elise are very much in my prayers right now, may the Holy Spirit comfort you in every way that you need and continually remind you of the living Hope and promises that we have in Jesus :-).

    With love to you,

    Nicole

  5. Mel
    October 11, 2014 at 1:39 pm

    Dear Hannah,
    Thanks for letting us know about Jared’s funeral & making it available to watch online. I know meeting Jared & hearing his journey was such an encouragement to me & example of living in faith in every circumstance. Thank you for the things you shared too on the 20/20 interviews. Thank you for sharing so much with us.
    I can’t understand what you’re going through, but I know God does & I pray that he would continue to support you & Elise & your family in every way.
    Mel

    P.S. I’m conscious of your need for privacy and the large amount of publicity that comes your way. There have been requests to put a link to this blog & the streaming of Jared’s funeral on the CMF NZ website. Would this be okay?

  6. Theresa
    October 11, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    Yes thank you for this generous idea I will be able to be there from
    afar also. I too will miss Jared’s voice through this blog ( reading for 3 years & often re-read his profound words on suffering & hope) and would like to send a card to Hannah and Elise if there was a PO Box?

  7. Caroline restall
    October 11, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    Dear Hannah, Elise and family,

    I nursed Jared when he first came into the Emergency Department after his fifth year medical exams and have observed his commitment to medicine in the face of adversity, and bravery since then. I am deeply sorry that he died so young leaving his family behind. However I am sure he will be remembered by so many people and for raising awareness for bowel cancer.
    Please accept my condolences for your loss.
    Caroline Restall

  8. Maree
    October 12, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Thank you Hannah and Elise, I will be there to support you and to say farewell to Jared. He will be greatly missed. You are in our thoughts and prayers, Much love and hugs, Maree

  9. penny
    October 13, 2014 at 12:22 am

    Hugs to Hannah and Elise, though we’ve never met, i flatted with Jarrod about 10 years ago. I enjoyed many chats & laughs with Jarrod over that time. I’ve enjoyed reading his blog. Its such sad news to hear. My thoughts and prayers are with you both. Penny

  10. October 13, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Hi Hannah,

    Thanks for letting us know about the live-stream service, I will watch it during my extended lunch break here in Sydney.

    My Manager told me a week ago about his 90+ years old mother’s passing, “Even though I knew this will happen soon, but I heard the news, it still came as a shock. You just can’t be ready for things like this.”

    I pray that you and Jarrod’s family are filled with God’s peace. We are blessed to know that Jarrod’s free from pain now, he’s just migrated to Heaven ahead of you, one day, you and Elise will see him agin 🙂

    May God continue to guide you and keep you. Stay strong under His protection.

    Love in Christ!

  11. Myra
    October 13, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    Dear Hannah and Elise,

    Our sincerest condolensces are sent to you, Elise, your families, friends, work
    colleagues and all who knew you and Jared at this sad, yet joyful time too, because
    of Jared’s faith and hope in Christ Jesus, knowing the suffering and pain he endured
    is now over and he is now at peace and gone on to eternal rest.

    I never met you or Jared, but first heard of your harrowing journey with Bowel
    cancer in 2013, in the Give A Little Appeal, and followed Jared’s journey since then.

    Death is not a final seperation for you both Hannah, one day, because of your faith
    and trust in Christ you will be re united with Jared again in eternity and what a
    joyful reunion and day that will be.

    We will miss Jared and his impeccable articulate beautifully written updates
    along his journey, but also accept he has entered into his eternal rest now,
    and gone to be with Jesus.

    May God himself be your comfort and his presence sustain you daily Hannah, as
    you continue on with your own journey in this life from now on.
    Live and take one day at a time, and dont worry or ovethink tomorrow because
    God is already there and has everything under control for you and Elise.

    We appreciate you letting us know when Jared’s funeral will be and thank you for
    the opportunity to be a part as Jared’s followers to his blog to be able to view
    the live stream of his funeral.
    We will continue to pray for you and Elise in the days ahead and not forget about
    you.

  12. October 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    I only knew Jared through an event he spoke at GCC in Auckland and through following his blog. Thank you so much for the opportunity to give money to support his treatment and this opportunity to be a part of his funeral. I am sitting here in Christchurch, in the sunshine, and crying while watching his friends and family pay tribute to a wonderful man. We will never forget Jared.

  13. Dee Karena
    October 15, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    Thank you for this last final gift from your family. I would have loved to have attended the service but work commitments didn’t allow that so I am truly honoured that you have included the video of the service on the blog. I am looking forward to the release of Jared’s book and know you will let us know via here or FB where we can purchase copies. I hope there is a big debut/reveal/book opening evening. I will be there if so. Finally, I admire you Hannah – for sharing the ups and downs during Jared’s illness and the excitement and joy of Elise. Both your and Jareds strength has been documented but it was also evident to us how much love surrounded you shared. That is what has helped ground and focussed you. May God bless and watch over those that Jared loved as I’m sure he will be. Arohanui. Dee

  14. Maree
    October 15, 2014 at 4:51 pm

    Dear Hannah and Elise,
    It was such a lovely celebration of Jared’s life at Monday’s service. I was moved beyond words and was praying for you guys the whole day. You so bravely shared your heart during the service and I was brought to tears. I admire Ruth and Royston and Kirsty for sharing their stories as well, such a difficult and painful time for you all. The service was so Jared! His handprints were all over it and it really honoured him and brought honour and glory to God. Our home-group are meeting tonight and we will be praying for you and Elise on an ongoing basis. Our love and thoughts are with you and your family, love and hugs, Maree xx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

