Home > Blog, Cancer Update > Chemo 61, 62, and 63

Chemo 61, 62, and 63

It would seem I’m starting to update my rounds of chemo in triplets at the moment. Both reflective of available time in my life, and that of the somewhat repetitive nature of the routine.

There is no doubt symptoms progress slowly in a deteriorating fashion, with a periodic blip for the worse, and the occasional for the better. Round 62 in particular was quite bad. It was characterised by close to 12 hours of incessant hiccuping over the saturday off and on. Hiccuping is often a manifestation of nausea and it can also be reflective of irritation to the diaphragm. For me, they tend to persist for hours at a time before I am able to get relief from them. Relief is usually found by being horizontal for an hour or two, often resulting in a restless sleep that ensues after the exhaustion of repetitive paroxysmal diaphragm contractions.

It then seems weird, for no obvious rhyme or reason, that round 63 was actually an improvement over 62. I’m not sure I would describe it as a ‘good’ round, but relative to the previous one, it was certainly a step in the right direction.

In other news, I have now moved from the upper GI surgical team at Auckland Hospital to the Colorectal surgical team. This is obviously quite literally dealing with patients who have the same diagnosis as myself. I generally as a rule do not divulge such information to the patient, at the end of the day, my job is to be there to provide them care in their circumstance, not to regale them of tales of my own journey. I do love scrubbing in and assisting on surgeries that I have personally have had though. Rummaging around in someones abdomen, knowing that someone once did it to me in order to give me longer years, seems to really give you appreciation for the difference that can be made in someones life, even if it hasn’t been an outright cure.

On the horizon ahead are further rounds of chemotherapy, a CT scan, and maybe having to deal with the fact that my CEA, a tumour marker in the blood used to monitor biochemical cancer activity, is starting to rise. The CT will shed a little light on this, but it might make for an interesting next few months with regard to treatment options and possible interventions. I, of course, will keep you all updated as information comes to hand. In the mean time, we keep trucking along.

Until next time…

Categories: Blog, Cancer Update
  1. Ange
    June 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    I’ve never made a comment here but I wanted to thank you for sharing your experiences. I wish you all the best. Keep trucking along.

  2. Ctz
    June 16, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Thank you Jared – saying prayers …You must be an awesome doctor!

  3. Dyana Parore-Connell
    June 17, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    Thankyou for your update. All the best, you are amazing with how you cope with everything. God bless. Take care.

  4. Theresa
    June 18, 2013 at 12:56 am

    Yes amazing doctor & so passionate about your work. Bravo; & gee..those hiccups sound exhausting. Blessings each day to you & Hannah.

  5. Lester
    June 23, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Hi again Jared – thought you might be interested in the work that is currently being carried out with regard to “Salvestrols” by Professor Gerry Potter and Professor Dan Burke, who are both associated with the De Montfort University in Leicester, England.
    Brian A Schaefer has recently written a book regarding the work they have been doing, entitled, “Salvestrols, Nature’s Defence against Cancer.” ISBN 978-0-9783274-0-8
    God bless ,
    Lester

  6. Arlene
    June 27, 2013 at 12:53 pm

    Dear Jared
    We love your posts and it’s a privilege that we can take part in this difficult journey with you.
    Your writing style is engaging and informative. Our thoughts are with you….

    Carla and Arlene

  7. Jennifer
    July 1, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Dear Jared,

    It was a privilege to hear you speak last night and a pleasure to meet you – fellow medic and Christian. Like I said, my aunt is also battling terminal colon cancer and is into her third year of treatment, and I came to your talk in the hope of gleaning a message of support that I can pass onto her. But I gained so much more than that! I have been feeling quite burnt out at work and losing some of the enthusiasm that lead me into medicine in the first place. But hearing you – your love of being a doctor, your willingness to serve, your desire to build His kingdom with every moment – was so inspirational. Your message of submission and hope really moved me and reminded me all over again what it is all about. Thank you for sharing your story. Stay strong and you will be in my prayers.

    – Jennifer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment